2NE1 – To Anyone

2NE1 To Anyone

Release Date: September 10, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Can’t Nobody
  2. Go Away
  3. Clap Your Hands
  4. I’m Busy
  5. Slow
  6. 사랑은 아야야
  7. You And I
  8. Please Don’t Go
  9. Kiss
  10. Follow Me
  11. I Don’t Care (Reggae Remix)
  12. Can’t Nobody (EnglishVersion)


2NE1 make their highly anticipated return with their first full length album To Anyone. After the success they attained with their mini-album and subsequent solo projects can they live up to expectations?

Promotions for this album are extremely ambitious with a triple a sided single released right from the start. Clap Your Hands and Can’t Nobody manage to maintain the level of quality one expects from this group with the former being the standout. Go Away is the weakest of the group simply because it sounds like a generic dance pop track in comparison to the other two singles. That’s not to say it’s a bad song, but it’s not exactly at the same level as the other releases.

The new songs continue right up to middle point of the album and for the most part they are very good. It was a surprise to hear this group take on a slower paced song with 아파 (Slow). It’s got a jazzy kind of groove to it and they pull the track off quite nicely.

Unfortunately that’s all you get, which is a shame because a couple of other similar sounding songs would have been nice to hear.

After you hit the midway point of the album you get a compilation of previously released solo projects and remixes with a funky Urban styled track Follow Me squeezed in between.

I can’t say this album is all good because of the recycling of older, previously released material. Those could have been easily replaced by new tracks instead. There is also the gratuitous use of the dreaded auto-tune. I didn’t mind it actually since it was tastefully done instead of being layered on to make up for a lack of talent.

Overall I was impressed with To Anyone and I believe this will meet the expectations of 2NE1’s fan base, and mostly meet those of the average listener. They will probably gain a few new fans through this as well.

To Anyone

YesAsia Logo

About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.