4minute – Hit Your Heart

4minute Hit Your Heart

Release Date: May 19, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Who’s Next? feat. Beast
  2. HuH
  3. Invitation
  4. I My Me Mine
  5. Bababa
  6. Highlight
  7. Taeyeonhage Dangyeonhage


Hit Your Heart is the second mini-album from 4minute. It’s similar in tone to their first mini-album For Muzik and pretty much falls in line with the current South Korean pop sound that is a blend of pop with electronic music undertones. With that said, is it any good?

That depends on just how saturated you are with the plethora of similar groups out there because a lot of what’s on Hit Your Heart isn’t much different from what everyone else is doing. If you can live with that then you should have absolutely no problem with this album. Included here are the lead single HuH and their second single I My Me Mine.

Both represent the kinds of songs you will hear on Hit Your Heart. You either get something mid tempo and somewhat minimalist (for a K-Pop song) or you get high energy and slightly over produced. Then there’s the exception to it all, the ballad Taeyeonhage Dangyeonhage.

Not that the familiarity is a bad thing. The album cuts live up the hype the single releases created for this album with the standouts being Higlight and the previously mentioned balled Taeyeonhage Dangyeonhage.

Actually, I was kind of surprised that this group could pull off a ballad as well as they did. The only downside here is Who’s Next? It had a sweet groove but was way too short. Under 2 minutes, really? Why bother?

This mini-album was quite good considering that it didn’t deviate from the current K-Pop sound at all. I wouldn’t be surprised if this gets a repackage soon. If you combine Hit Your Heart with For Muzik you kind of get an idea of what a full length album from 4minute might sound like, so the future looks good for this group.

As for whether you should give this album a shot? That really depends on how you feel. If you’re looking for something outside of the norm of mainstream K-Pop then pass. If you just want something fun to listen to, then give it a go.

Hit Your Heart

YesAsia Logo

About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.