9nine – Second 9

9nine - Second 9

Release Date: July 9, 2008

Track Listing

  1. Awake
  2. Sky
  3. Merry-go-Round
  4. Suna no Shiro
  5. Hyouryuu Shoujo
  6. Monster
  7. Cherry
  8. Koi Hana
  9. Show Time


9nine (pronounced “nine”) is a performance group signed to Sony Music Japan and Second Nine is their second studio album. Their sound during the time of this album is similar to that of Buono! Combining idol pop with rock band instrumentation. A far cry from their current electro pop offerings.

After giving this album a couple of run-throughs I can safely say that a lot of the rock oriented songs could easily be mistaken for SCANDAL tracks. That’s not an insult to the great band that is SCANDAL, I’m just making a parallel in regards to the actual music. The vocals on the other hand, are pure idol all the way. Meaning that they’re either competent or quite painful when the harmonizing doesn’t quite gel.

Funny thing on this album is that the pure pop songs have better vocals. I don’t know if that was intentional or not. Even with that said, these tracks aren’t totally mind blowing and are probably derivative of what idol fans have heard before. But that’s really not a big deal in the grand scheme of things.

Of the batch of songs on this album go straight for Awake, Merry-Go-Round, Suna no Shiro and Hyouruu Shoujo. That little taster should give you a feel for the rest of the album and what is in store for you.

My only real complaint about Second Nine is the way it’s put together is kind of strange. You get all the rocking tracks right up front and then all of a sudden there’s a shift to more traditional idol pop and then a back & forth see-saw between the two until you reach the end.

It was definitely not as cohesive I would like but maybe that won’t bother you. Otherwise Second Nine is completely harmless idol pop. It’s really neither here nor there and it could be borderline “meh” for some of you.

But if you’re looking for something outside of your comfort zone give this a shot.

Second 9

CDJapan Logo

About Greg 1009 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.