Aya Matsuura – Naked Songs

Naked Songs / Aya Matsuura

Track Listing

  1. Feel Your Groove
  2. Rock My Body
  3. Hitori
  4. Oshare
  5. I Know
  6. Hajimete Kuchibiru o Kasaneta Yoru
  7. LOVE Namida Iro
  8. Doki Doki LOVE Mail
  9. Tropical Koishiteru
  10. Don’t Know Why
  11. Suna o Kamu Yo ni…. NAMIDA
  12. Dearest


Naked Songs is Aya Matsuura’s 4th studio album and was released on November 29, 2006.  The concept behind the album is similar to MTV Unplugged.  With that in mind, her songs translate well to that type of enviornment and it was refreshing to hear many familiar songs done by a live band.  The arrangements are slightly different, but I liked that things were changed up.

Matsuura’s vocals are in fine form on this album. Her voice has a very pretty tone to it, most evident on the slower songs.  The stand out performances for me were Rock My Body and Don’t Know Why.  Rock My Body is a smooth R&B track & she sounded really good on it.  I think it would be nice if she did a little more within that genre because she didn’t sound out of place at all. (unlike others who try R&B)

Her cover of Don’t Know Why was surprisingly impressive.  She sounds just as good singing in English and her pronunciation was quite clear.  This type of song is kind of like her newer stuff in a way, but not as boring.

Overall this was a joy to listen to.  It makes me wonder what it would be like if other H!P / UFA groups tried this kind of concept album.

About Greg 1082 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.