Berryz Koubou – 6th Otakebi Album

Regular Edition

Limited Edition

Release Date: March 31, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Otakebi Boy WAO!
  2. Rival
  3. Ryuusei Boy
  4. Ai ni wa Ai Desho
  5. Seishun Bus Guide
  6. Kimi no Tomodachi
  7. Ground Demo Rouka Demo Medatsu Kimi
  8. Tomodachi wa Tomodachi Nanda!
  9. Kibou no Yoru
  10. Dakishimete Dakishimete
  11. Yakimochi wo Kudasai!
  12. Watashi no Mirai no Danna-sama


6th Otakebi Album is the well, the 6th album from Berryz Koubou. Based on the single releases it sounded like this had the potential to be the best of the releases from H!P’s main groups. Will they stink up the joint like their fellow H!P Kids comrades C-ute or will they be more like the flagship group Morning Musume and have something worth listening to? Let’s find out shall we?

Unlike C-ute and Morning Musume’s albums there isn’t much new material here. If you bought every Berryz single since last year then you pretty much almost have this entire album. That’s right, all 7 singles are included in this package leaving us with only 5 new tracks to work with.

When you listen to these 5 tracks you begin to see the difference between the two H!P Kids groups. When everyone in Berryz gets a chance to sing they don’t suck. Sure, Berryz also has their main leads (Miyabi, Risako, Momoko and sometimes Yurina) but at least the rest of the group is vocally capable of holding their own when called upon.

Similar to previous Berryz albums the group is split  into sub-units for some songs. My favorite of these mini-group tracks being Ground Demo Rouka Demo Medatsu. It started off sounding like a Perfume song and then went into H!P styled pop overdrive. A nice combo actually. I’m not much of  a Maasa fan but she does have a nice voice. Perhaps they should let her sing a bit more? I don’t think that would be a bad idea at all.

Berryz seem to have won in the production department when compared to Morning Musume and C-ute. The best example being Kimi no Tomodachi. It appears that the producers were listening to a lot of m-flo when this track was made. I have absolutely no problem with that since it’s so different from the typical H!P production and the group sounds great. I encourage more of these kind of songs in the future please.

Overall I say this is an excellent album. I couldn’t find anything wrong with it other than there not being enough new songs. It’s just slightly above 10 My Me in quality and light years beyond Shocking 5.

Buy it now, listen often.

6th Otakebi Album – Regular Edition

6th Otakebi Album- Limited Edition

6th Otakebi Digital Download

About Greg 1074 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.