Berryz Koubou – 7 Berryz Times

7 Berryz Times RE

Regular Edition

7 Berryz Times LE

Limited Edition

Release Date: March 30, 2011

Track Listing

  1. Icchoume Rock!
  2. Heroine ni Narou ka!
  3. Bomb Bomb Jump
  4. Masshiroi Ano Kumo
  5. Maji Bomber!
  6. Joshikai The Night
  7. Girls Times
  8. Onna no Pride
  9. Shining Power
  10. Magical Future!


Greg New Profile Pic2011 is Berryz Koubou’s 7th anniversary as a group and as part of the celebration of that momentous occasion they have released their 7th album 7 Berryz Times. Hello! Project has been on hell of a roll musically (videos are debatable) and one has to wonder if this will continue the resurgence of great music from their camp.

The answer to that is yes and the surprising thing about this album is that it’s mostly new material. Normally you get a bunch of previously released singles taking up the majority of the space but this is much different. Of course there are the singles that we’ve all heard already (Maji Bomber, Shining Power, Heroine ni Narou ka) but the album cuts also hold a few gems.

I found the catchy retro pop sound of Bomb Bomb Jump and Girls Times along with dance cuts like Joshikai The Night and Magical Future! to be of most interest. I was a little saddened by the fact there was nothing like Kimi no Tomodachi (from 6th Otakebi album) here. I actually liked the direction that kind of production was taking the group in and was hoping for a bit more.

That’s only a minor complaint and probably something only I would really would really gripe about. As a whole I would say this is an impressive album with some quality tracks. It’s not quite at the level of excellence of their 6th album, but impressive nonetheless.

Kuro PicFirst thing I need to point out, the regular cover, Maasa and Captain = HAWT! The others moving toward the mature stage of their lives and the little black dress creates a great look for them leading into the near future.

Now to the music, this album has more original songs than the previous album, which excites me the most and it doesn’t disappoint, and it presents a spectrum of sounds, like pop/rock, dance, and ballads, which is the modern Berryz, compare the singles, and it presents the same feel as the album.

As a person who likes rock music, I am in love with Icchoume Rock! and as the #1 track it made a great impression on me and with every track following it was a step into what many are expecting of them, which might be stepping into major competitors, with Morning Musume flailing with the recent changes. Other tracks likes Bomb Bomb Jump and Girl Times are quite impressive and blows things out of the water.

However, the problem is that for how much I love this album, I have to agree with Greg on this album is not as great as the 6th Otakebi album, although I think it might be the step for Hello! Project forward from the MM single release which honestly, I hope is better than what I watched .

7 Berryz Times RE

YesAsia Logo CDJapan Logo

7 Berry z Times LE

YesAsia Logo CDJapan Logo

7 Berryz Times USA Release

Hello Store USA Logo

About Greg 1082 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.