BoA – BoA

BoA US Album

Release Date: March 17 2009

Track Listing

  1. I Did It For Love (feat. Sean Garrett)
  2. Energetic
  3. Did Ya
  4. Look Who’s Talking
  5. Eat You Up
  6. Obsessed
  7. Touched
  8. Scream
  9. Girls On Top
  10. Dress Off
  11. Hypnotic Dancefloor
  12. Eat You Up (DJ Escape & Johnny Vicious Remix)


I have been eagerly waiting for this album & on it’s release day in Canada I couldn’t find a physical copy anywhere.  I was very disappointed as I really wanted the CD for this.  Instead I made my way to iTunes & bought it from there.  Oh well, fail to whoever didn’t market this anywhere.

Anyway, with that little rant out of the way, this is BoA’s North American debut.  Judging from the first single (Eat You Up) it sounded like this album would be a totally different beast from her Japanese and Korean stuff.  And… Well it is.

If you’re used to BoA’s earlier material you’re going to be in for a bit of shock.  There’s not a  ballad or mid-tempo song to be found here. If you like those kind of songs you’re out of luck. Everything here is varying degrees of club music.  Big booming kicks, deep bass lines, buzzy synths & all that.  Strangely enough this format works.  I mean when you have a bunch of club songs together you usually get sick of that shit after say the first 3 tracks unless it’s some high quality stuff.

The sound of this album falls squarely in electro-pop/dance territory & would not sound out of place within the current North American market.  Props to SM for doing their homework before releasing this.  Unfortunately this isn’t Perfume style electro-pop (I prefer that style), but what ‘s on here  is still some hot stuff.

To be honest I’m surprised at how good this album is, it’s not perfect by any means.  I think the track listing could have been altered so some of the same sounding songs didn’t follow each other (i.e. I Did It For Love -> Energetic).

There is also a remix of Eat You Up at the end of the version of the album I bought.  I think the wrong remix was chosen, and would have preferred the Flo Rider version instead.  That mix fits in much more with the rest of the album in comparison to a dance remix.

I also found the overall sound to be a little too Britney (Spears)-esque.  Not to say that’s a bad thing because Britney has actually released some good shit lately.  Just something I noticed when I repeated the entire album over.

The most interesting album cuts I found were Did Ya & Touched with Did Ya being the stronger of the two.  It starts off with some sort of strange game show type melody & evolves into an uptempo acoustic guitar driven track.  It’s really catchy & unfortunately extremely short (2:59).  The song  just goes by so fast, but it’s great while it lasts.

Touched is a full on Hip-Hop track that uses what sounds like a broken toy piano for the melody.  I think that’s a nice touch that makes the sound stand out from the pack.  This song could have been ruined by some random rapper spitting unrelated garbage but instead BoA was allowed to carry the song by herself.  Which I’m thankful for since I don’t think I would have liked this song if some random person I never heard of was rapping over it.

Speaking of that, also included on this album is the title track from BoA’s Girls On Top album.  It actually fits in with the rest of the album.  Surprising considering that the song is a couple of years old.  I didn’t like the random rapping dude dropping verses though.  I don’t remember the Korean version having some dude spit rhymes over the track.

Overall this is a fairly solid debut.  I’m not exactly sure this will sell as much given that I haven’t seen any marketing for this at all at any retail outlets.  I haven’t even heard either of the singles from this album on radio or on mix shows nor have I seen the music videos during high rotation hours on Much or MTV.

It’s kinda sad that people are missing out, but don’t be one of them.  Pick up this album.

About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.