C-ute – 4 Akogare My Star

Akogare My Star / Cute

Track Listing

  1. Akogare My Star
  2. One’s Life
  3. Yes! All My Family
  4. Namida no Iro
  5. Aishiteru Aishiteru
  6. Seishun Song
  7. Big Dreams
  8. Shines
  9. Yakusoku wa Toku ni Shinai wa
  10. Forever Love
  11. Edo no Temari Uta II


I’m not the biggest fan of this group.  In fact I haven’t listened to their previous 3 albums & have only restricted myself to their single releases.  This is my first venture into actually going through an entire album of their material.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a strong dislike for this group either, I’m just on the fence about them at the moment.  From my understanding the group is kind of the Airi & Maimi show with the other members acting as backup.  Sorry to offend any fans out there, that’s just the way it’s presented to a neutral party like myself.

Anyway, this album was released on January 28, 2009 & includes previously released singles Namida no Iro, Edo  no Temari Uta II and Forever Love.  2 of those songs (Namida no Iro & Edo no Temari II) I liked, mainly because the sounds of each track were some rather nice pieces of work.  Edo no Temari II being the most interesting just for the fact that I felt it was a successful attempt at spicing up an old track.

As for the rest of the album, well it started nicely with  no warning  with the uptempo Akogare My Star.  The group just started singing immediately & burnt through the track with lightning speed.  It went by so fast that it was hard to take in.  Upon repeated listens I think it’s a pretty good track.  Then things quickly started slipping.

As I continued listening I was wondering when the next decent (non-single) track would show up.  Instead I had to sit through a very bad attempt at rapping (One’s Life) & some boring, generic sounding songs (just about everything else).  Okay, it’s not all totally awful.  Maimi Yajima’s solo track was a decent attempt at bringing back some sort of life & energy to the album.  But that was short-lived as the final new track ended up being a ballad (Yakusoku wa Toku ni Shinai wa).  It wasn’t good & it wasn’t bad, it was just… Meh.

I wasn’t very pleased with this album. There wasn’t much to really indicate that I should invest more time in this group outside of their single releases.  Oh well, maybe someone could recommend an album that could change my mind perhaps?  Because it sure isn’t this one.

About Greg 1086 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.