C-ute – Dai Nana Shou Utsukushikutte Gomen ne

C-ute Dai Nana Shou Utsukushikutte Gomen ne

Release Date: February 8, 2012

Track Listing

  1. Momoiro Sparkling
  2. Hitorijime Shitakatta Dake na no ni
  3. Ike! Genki-kun
  4. Sekaiichi Happy na Onna no Ko
  5. Zuntaka March ~Hitorashiku Ikiyō~
  6. Tokai no Neon ga Odoroku Kurai no Utsukushisa ga Hoshii
  7. Kagayake! Hōkago
  8. Shiawase no Tochū
  9. Amazuppai Haru ni Sakura Saku
  10. 3ban Home 3 Ryōme
  11. Seishun Gekijō (C-ute Version)


C-ute’s 7th album has a title that is difficult for non-Japanese speakers to say without getting their tongue twisted in knots, but it is the first official full length album released from Hello! Project in 2012. (Kikkawa Yuu doesn’t count folks, she’s on Universal J, not any UFA associated labels.)

Chou Wonderful 6 was the group’s step out of the dog house after the mess that was Sucking Shocking 5. Dai Nana Shou Utsukushikutte kind of continues their step back into the battle for Hello! Project supremacy but falters along the way.

First the good. There are only 3 previously released songs on this album so that leaves plenty of new material to absorb. No more skipping through stuff you’ve heard before & cursing that you didn’t get your money’s worth.

True to form for C-ute, there are many uptempo dance songs with the best of those tracks (not including the singles) being Hitorijime Shitakatta Dake na no ni, Tokai no Neon ga Odoroku Kurai no Utsukushisa ga Hoshii and Kagayake! Hōkago.

For mid-tempo or ballad type songs you’re best directed towards Shiawase no Tochū and Seishun Gekijō. (C-ute Version) The latter was previously released on the Hello! Project Petit Best 12 compilation as a collaboration with Berryz Koubou by the way. But technically I don’t believe it was ever an official single so I’ll count it as an album cut.

Now for the bad. Let’s start with Hagiwara Mai’s solo Ike! Genki-kun. Musically there’s nothing wrong with the song. It’s when Mai starts singing that things go downhill. Zuntaka March ~Hitorashiku Ikiyō~ is just a complete mess. It starts off sounding like a H!P take on a Soul revival track. Then it derails as it slows way down and speeds back up again throughout.

Completely jarring and strange from an arrangement point of view.

Overall there is a lot more good than bad on this album. It may not be as in your face as Chou Wonderful 6 but it’s still a step in the right direction for C-ute.

Dai Nana Shou Utsukushikutte Gomen ne (CD + DVD)

YesAsia Logo

Dai Nana Shou Utsukushikutte Gomen ne (CD Only)

YesAsia Logo

About Greg 1082 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.