C-ute – Shocking 5

Regular Edition

Limited Edition

Release Date:  February 24, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Everyday Zekkouchou
  2. The Party!
  3. Aa Koi (Suzuki Airi)
  4. Bye Bye Bye!
  5. Lonely Girl’s Night (Yajima Maimi)
  6. Kimi no Senpou (Nakajima Saki, Okai Chisato, Hagiwara Mai)
  7. Shock!
  8. Shigatsu Sengen
  9. Zansho Omimai Moushigemasu
  10. Yume ga Aru Kara
  11. Shochuu Omimai Moushigemasu (H22 Remix)


Shocking 5 is C-ute’s 5th album and the first as a 5 person unit. Many fans have been begging for more vocal equality now that the group has fewer members. With Airi & Maimi taking the leads for so long I didn’t think UFA would take that request seriously. Apparently I was wrong because now we have this album.

All I can say is the result isn’t as pleasing to the ear as one would like. In fact it’s rather horrifying that outside of the single releases, the 2 Airi solo tracks (yes, Shock! counts) and Maimi’s song that the other girls were allowed to sing any leads.  Seriously. As much as I dig Nakajima her voice is, well… Squeaky and rather helium like. Fine for say the high parts in background vocals, not so good for lead.

Hagiwara isn’t any better. Perhaps it’s because she ‘s the youngest and her voice probably hasn’t matured as much that I’ll give her a pass. Still, no lead for her either. Out of the 3 non-lead vocalists Okai has the best voice but… I don’t see her stealing any songs quite yet.

I have to say that I think the title of this album is very appropriate as it I found it shocking that it was actually released. It sounds like like a bunch of filler tracks squeezed between the singles to me. I think most will listen to this once and forget about it since there’s nothing to really grab on to.

I have stated many times here that out of the big 3 (or 4) in H!P C-ute have been given the best songs. I’m probably going to have to take that back until they can make up for this mess of an album.

Regular Edition (Japan Version)

Limited Edition CD + DVD (Japan Version)

About Greg 1086 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.