Diggy Mo – Diggyism

Diggy Mo Diggyism CD

Release Date: March 25, 2009

Track Listing

  1. Bakusou Yume Uta
  2. Unchain
  3. Zaza
  4. Juves
  5. Fire Woo Foo Foo feat. LISA
  6. La La Fun
  7. Samuraizumu
  8. Challenger
  9. Beladon
  10. Nostaljane
  11. Hurtt feat. Ohga
  12. Ani
  13. Vega


Diggy Mo’ is the main MC of the Japanese Hip-Hop group SOUL’d Out.  Diggyism is his debut solo release.  I find Diggy Mo’s flow to be rather unique.  He has an interesting way of putting his lyrics together & to be honest, there are times when I have no clue what he’s saying but he makes everything sound cool so that  makes up for that small flaw.

It’s no surprise that a lot of the songs on this album sound similar to SOUL’d out tracks.  Nothing really falls too far from the established formula  that has made their songs successful.  For example Bakusou Yume Uta  has a bit of a Starlight Destiny kind of feel to it.  It’s a good strategy to not stray too far from what listeners are used to hearing the first time out.  Well, at least I think so.

Not to say there aren’t things that differentiate Diggy Mo’s solo works from his group efforts.  Juves has some touches of classical music, almost like something you would hear from Faith but with a stronger Hip-Hop influence.

Fire Woo Foo Foo not only has one of the more fun song titles I’ve seen but also a sweet House styled track.  The piano work on this is some great stuff.  The track that sounds most interesting is Hurtt.  It’s got a funky Electro/Hip-Hop vibe that really meshes well with Diggy Mo’s flow.

At the end of this album is what amounts to an attempt at a heartfelt Hip-Hop ballad.  I didn’t find it to be anything special & actually thought it sounded out of place.  When you’re bombarded with mid to high tempo jams & you get a ballad without anything easing you into it?  Well, it just doesn’t seem proper really.  But that’s a very small complaint about an otherwise very good debut album that I found to be a different & refreshing take on Hip-Hop.

About Greg 995 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.