DJ Sly – Go On

DJ Sly Go On

Release Date: September 7, 2011

Track Listing

  1. Etupirka feat.サイプレス上野, KAORU
  2. I’m Walking feat. BRON-K, 信渓
  3. R Rated feat. CAMP LO
  4. For Your Love feat.つのだ☆ひろ, L-VOKAL
  5. (Interlude)-A
  6. Just A Little Bit feat. 日之内エミ
  7. Take A Side Street feat. YUKI☆MC仁井山
  8. Killing Me Softly with His Song
  9. Love Together feat. KAORU
  10. (interlude)-B
  11. Promising feat. 米重優哉
  12. Love Journey
  13. Focus feat. 日之内エミ
  14. Monokuro feat. meajyu
  15. Us Your Feeling
  16. Soul Incredible feat. Small Eyez
  17. Walk Around feat.サイプレス上野
  18. Hold On Me feat. KRIS KELLI


I am always looking for quality Japanese Hip-Hop. It’s not exactly the easiest thing to find as many of the underground artists aren’t exactly the most popular among mainstream music fans. But every once in a while I manage to run into something that has some promise & that’s exactly the case with DJ Sly’s Go On.

Trying to find any concrete information about DJ Sly was a bitch to say the least. The closest to a bio about the person(s) who made this album I could find  was “A Japanese electronic artist.” The rest of the time I ended up getting hits about a veteran British Drum & Bass DJ which I believe is the farthest thing from what I was looking for. Apologies in advance for not having any information about this particular DJ Sly but oh well.

As for the content of Go On? Well, that was pretty easy to get into and it really needs no explanation. I found much of the material here similar to what Dohzi-T does, blending smooth Hip-Hop beats with some R&B hooks. Or for you K-Pop heads, Epik High would be a good comparison as well. Much of what’s here is laid back, mellow and free of any auto-tune. A God send for many who are sick of that trend.

Much like most modern Hip-Hop Go On features a ton of collaborations with familiar names like CAMP LO and Emi Hinouchi along with maybe lesser known artists outside of Urban circles like Kaoru and Kris Kelli. Each brings their own touch to the songs they are featured on. Anything with Kaoru (Etupirka, Love Together) or Emi Hinouchi (Just A Little Bit, Focus) are good places to start.

For those looking to go deeper into the album you can give R Rated, Promising, Soul Incredible and Hold On Me a spin as well. If you’re more adventurous you can also try the instrumental tracks such as the cover of Killing Me Softly With His Song, Love Journey and Us Your Journey. That should give you a very good idea of how this album plays out.

That means no club bangers about popping bottles or getting your drink on or any of that senseless bullshit. If you want those kinds of songs Go On is not for you. But if you like chilled out Hip-Hop Soul definitely give this a listen.

About Greg 1009 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.