G-Dragon – One Of A Kind

G-Dragon One Of A Kind Album Cover

Release Date: September 18, 2012

Track Listing

  1. One Of A Kind
  2. Crayon
  3. Without You
  4. That XX
  5. Missing You feat. Kim Yuna of Jaurim
  6. Today feat. Kim Jong Wan of Nell
  7. Light It Up feat. Tabo and Dok2


G-Dragon’s One of A Kind is his follow up to 2009’s Heartbreaker. While many were probably hoping for a full album full of new material, this EP is as good as you’re going to get for now.

And really, it’s only 3 tracks short of a full album anyway, so it’s not like you’re getting ripped off.

This album starts off rather deceptively with a couple of club tracks that are reminiscent of GD’s work with T.O.P. When first say the title of Crayon, I thought the song was going to be about Crayons. That seemed to be a weird subject to write about but maybe he puffed the magic dragon before getting to work on that track?

After paying more attention, the chorus encourages one to get crazy and is more along the lines of something like an LMFAO song. Well maybe next time GD will write about the joy of coloring outside the lines. That seems to fit the theme of getting your Crayon too. Just at a much different level.

I found the not so clubby songs to be the better material on this EP. The section from That XX to Today is great examples of some great pop hooks and guest appearances that don’t overwhelm the track or G-Dragon himself.

That XX and Missing You are especially interesting given that they show a different side of GD that were not present on his debut album and short glimpses one sees when he’s with the Big Bang collective.

Comparing One Of A Kind to Heartbreaker you can tell there is a definite shift in G-Dragon’s sound, and its for the better. Perhaps some of you may not like the change but I think it shows definitive growth as an artist.

Overall, a very good EP that really should have been a full length. But don’t let that deter you from giving it a go.

One Of A Kind

YesAsia Logo

About Greg 1001 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.