Girls’ Generation – The Boys (U.S. Album)

Girls' Generation The Boys

Release Date: January 17, 2011

Track Listing

  1. The Boys (English Version)
  2. Telepathy
  3. Say Yes
  4. Trick (Typical)
  5. How Great Is Your Love (Still Believe In Love)
  6. My J
  7. Oscar
  8. Top Secret (Shake The Tree)
  9. Lazy Girl (Dolce Far Niente) [Crazy Girl]
  10. Sunflower
  11. Vitamin
  12. Mr. Taxi (Korean Version)
  13. The Boys (Korean Version)
  14. The Boys (Clinton Sparks & Disco Fries Remix feat. Snoop Dogg
  15. The Boys (Bring Dem Boys feat. Suzi)
  16. The Boys (Bring The Boys Out) [David Anthony Remix]
  17. The Boys (Bring The Boys) [Teddy Riley Remix]


When this was announced SONE’s, netziens & any fan of top notch modern K-Pop were frothing at the mouth for some U.S. Girls’ Generation action. Would they be re-recording their album in English? What about U.S.exclusive goodies? Are there any at all?

The answer to both questions is no. Besides the various remixes of The Boys nothing is in English. That might be a huge disappointment for those of you who were actually expecting re-recordings in a language you understand. Sorry, but SM ain’t quite there yet with this group. If you seriously expected something special your expectations were way too high.

What this boils down to is the Korean album released in October of 2011 with a few of the remixes from the American maxi-single released in December 2011 tacked on the end. Pretty convenient for those who may not have invested in either already. For those who already have both, kind of a waste of time and money, assuming you actually did pay for this and the maxi-single. Because not all of you actually pay for your music right?

As a side note, to those who didn’t believe that this was going to be the result of the American version of the album, I called it! =) (You know who you are.)

Anyway, there’s no real point in re-hashing my thoughts of the U.S. version of The Boys. If you’re interested you can read my album and maxi-single reviews instead.

Pass on this unless you’re a hardcore Girls’ Generation fan who must own everything they’ve ever released no matter how indifferent each version is from each other.

The Boys (U.S. Album)


About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.