Girls’ Generation – The Boys

Girls' Generation The Boys

Release Date: October 19, 2011

Track Listing

  1. The Boys
  2. Telepathy
  3. Say Yes
  4. Trick
  5. How Great Is Your Love
  6. My J
  7. Oscar
  8. Top Secret
  9. Lazy Girl (Dolce Far Niente)
  10. Sunflower
  11. Vitamin
  12. Mr. Taxi (Korean Version)
  13. The Boys (English Version)


After taking some time to promote themselves in Japan Girls’ Generation return to Korea with their 3rd full length album The Boys.

This album is unique in Girls’ Generation’s discography because it is the first to have its lead single released in the U.S. Yes, there is an English version of the title track produced by 90’s Urban music maestro Teddy Riley. It’s not exactly the greatest track to introduce Girls’ Generation to American audiences.

Sure it has a banging club beat but the song is stuck in a time loop of decades gone by. It doesn’t help that Girls’ Generation try to rap, which is something that they should never, ever try again. If you think the rapping would be better in Korean you’re wrong. It’s just as awful.

A lot of my thoughts on this one song were articulated in my PV review of The Boys so instead of repeating myself I’ll direct you there. It’s not Teddy Riley’s finest work with a K-Pop group & The Boys sure ain’t no Dr. Feel Good.

With that out of the way, the title track isn’t indicative of the entire album. In fact it sticks out like a sore thumb when compared to the other 11 songs on this album. I’m fairly sure that if you’re familiar with Girls’ Generation’s songs than none of this will seem new to you at all. They stick to their tried & true formula throughout until you hit the 2 ending tracks.

What does this mean for you the listener? Well you get the good (Telepathy, Top Secret, Trick and Oscar) & the almost rainbow vomit inducing sweet. (Say Yes, My J Vitamin and Lazy Girl) There are also some tastefully & somewhat sleepy ballads as well. (How Great Is Your Love & Sunflower)

Out of that list your best bets for a favorable listening experience are Telepathy, Trick and Oscar. Perhaps you can also go with Say Yes if you can get past the laughably cheesy English intro and Top Secret for its retro kind of vibe that is similar to Hoot.

It’s probably guaranteed that netziens are going to proclaim this the best thing since man discovered fire or maybe for the younger set, since Al Gore invented the Internet. (Bonus points if you know if that’s BS or not) It’s not that epic people. Yes it’s a marked improvement over their 2nd Korean album Hoot but there’s no real interesting musical deviation like their 1st Japanese album or the 2 tracks tacked on at end of this.

Of course that doesn’t really matter in the end does it? This will sell regardless.

The Boys (Single)


Girls Generation Vol. 3 The Boys

YesAsia Logo

About Greg 977 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.