Heartsdales – The Legend

The Legend Album Cover

Track Listing

  1. The Legend Begins
  2. So Tell Me
  3. That’s Why
  4. Body Rock
  5. Should Have What feat. Double
  6. Thru With You
  7. Candy Pop feat. SOUL’d Out
  8. I See You
  9. Love & Joy
  10. Fantasy
  11. Shining
  12. Hey DJ!
  13. Angel Eyes
  14. Fuyu Gonna Love
  15. Foxy Lady
  16. Stay


Heartsdales was a Hip-Hop group consisting of 2 sisters Yumi & Emi Sugiyama a.k.a. Rum & Jewels. Both women speak English & Japanese fluently. Having been raised in the U.S. for some time it should also be no surprise that their music has a strong 90’s North American Hip-Hop influence.

The Legend is a compilation of their singles & is also their last album as a unit. It was released on July 12, 2006. The songs on this album are arranged in chronological order which is a nice way to see how their sound has evolved. Their early works were produced by VERBAL (m-flo) so there was a much stronger Urban flavor to their songs. Their best selling single So Tell Me being the best example of that. Around the time of I See You the group was producing their own tracks & there was shift towards a more pop friendly sound.

I heard the the following used for describing their change in direction. It’s not a direct quote but it explains things fairly clearly.

Imagine Tupac rapping over a beat meant for a Hillary Duff song.

Yeah, kind of strange isn’t it? But really, their self-produced material isn’t that harsh. In fact a lot of it is some quality stuff, it just takes a little getting used to. In fact it was one of their own productions that got me into this group in the first place (Fantasy). The chorus section is sort of an ode to O.P.P. so that won me over.  From the second half of the album, Foxy Lady & Get Drunk are about as close as one will get to something resembling their older songs.

Overall this is a good representation of Heartsdales’ 4 year career.

About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.