Hikaru Utada – Unplugged

Utada Hikaru Unplugged / Hikaru Utada
Track Listing

  1. Making Of… Unplugged
  2. Wait & See ~Risk~
  3. First Love
  4. Addicted To You
  5. Parody
  6. Kettobase!
  7. With or Without You
  8. Automatic
  9. Final Distance


MTV Unplugged was a series started in 1989 & it showcases popular music artists playing acoustic versions of their songs.  Hikaru Utada joined the ranks of those who performed on this show in 2001.  Her performance was recorded at the Tennouzu Studio, Tokio, Japan on June 21.

What I found interesting about this DVD is that starts out with the Making Of.  Seeing the process of how Utada’s songs were re-arranged for an acoustic set was quite fascinating.  It takes a lot of effort to re-work her music for a completely different environment.

The show it self was a short 8 song set comprised of her more popular songs along with a cover of U2’s With or Without You.  Even though the songs were arranged differently, they still maintained the familiarity of the studio versions.

My favorite performances from this concert were Addicted To You and Automatic.  Both of those tracks were re-worked quite nicely.  Addicted To You had a slow funk kind of feel to it, the strings & bass were quite nice on this song.

Automatic was mellower & had a very jazzy kind of feel.  The piano & acoustic guitar work on this track were pretty sweet.   The only bad spot in this concert was her cover of With or Without You.  I thought it was just OK.  She sung it nicely, but I didn’t really feel anything from the performance as a whole.  Maybe another song would have been a better fit in its place.

With the exception of the U2 cover I thought this was a great concert and one of the better Unplugged shows I’ve seen.

About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.