Houkago Princess – My Princess Review

Houkago Princess My Princess CD Cover

Release Date: March 22, 2017

Track Listing

  1. Junpaku Antoinette
  2. Tonari no Seki no Princess
  3. Kiete, Shirayukihime
  4. Sennen Maika
  5. My Love Song
  6. Lychee Red no Unmei
  7. Forza! Ole!
  8. Seifuku Cinderella
  9. Memories -Kimi to Boku no Kousaten-
  10. Seishun Mermaid
  11. Dream Door
  12. Himitsu no Tiara to Gelato


My Princess is the first full-length album from Japanese idol group Houkago Princess and it features their 2015 single release Kiete, Shirayukihime, the 2016 singles Junpaku Antoinette, Seishun Mermaid and Himitsu no Tiara to Gelato. Their most recent single Lychee Red no Unmei is also included on this album.

My Princess starts off fast out of the gate with several slickly produced up tempo dance/pop songs. Early tracks such as Tonari no Seki no Princess, Kiete, Shirayukihime and Sennen Maika give an early idea of what to expect from Houkago Princess when they go into high gear. That trend continues into the latter half of the album with songs such as Forza! Ole! aand Seifuku Cinderella.

When the group gets the rare slower material to work with the results are surprisingly good. Songs like My Love Song and Memories ~Kimi to Boku no Kousaten~ don’t necessarily sound very idol like at all and are more along the lines of what you would expect out of an act that isn’t an idol group at all.

With no prior deep exposure to the music of Houkago Princess before this album I had to trust the recommendations of others who have greater knowledge of this particular group as to whether this was worth taking some time to investigate further. After listening to this album I am not fully on board the love train but my interest level in them is raised.

The songs on My Princess are certainly catchy but they also tend to fall into sounding like the music of other similar groups. Even with that small knock against them I believe there is enough here to say that you should at least give them some consideration if you are seeking some idol music outside of your normal playlist.

My Princess (Regular Edition)

My Princess (Limited Edition)

About Greg 1001 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.