JUJU – What’s Love

What's Love? / JUJU

Release Date: March 4, 2009

Track Listing

  1. What’s Love
  2. Sunao ni Naretara
  3. U Got Me
  4. Missin U
  5. My Life
  6. I Can Be Free
  7. Sakura
  8. Sora
  9. Love Together
  10. Kimi Ga Iru Kara ~My Best Friends~
  11. Segai ga Owaru Mae ni
  12. Yasashisa de Afureru Youni
  13. Kanashii
  14. Donna ni Tooku Temo…


JUJU is a Japanese singer based out of New York signed to Sony Music Japan.  What’s Love is her 5th album.  I found out about her when I bought the Tokyo Calling 2 compilation from the King Street Sounds web store.  She was featured on a track by Bliss called Another Day.

Besides that one track I haven’t heard any of her other songs until I found her single for Sora.  That song was a pleasent ballad that showcased her vocal abilities nicely and I was curious to hear more of what she had to offer.  When I found this album I decided to give it a shot.

What’s on here is a  mix of mid-tempo R&B (What’s Love, U Got Me, Segai ga Owaru Mae ni) that are reminiscent of the kind of songs AK did on her later albums and lush ballads (Sakura, Sora, Donna ni Tooku Temo…).   There seemed to be a larger number of  ballads but thankfully they weren’t overly long or boring.   Also worth taking note of are the jazzy My Life and the old school sound of Love Together.

Overall this album had a  fair amount of solid songs.  I did feel that it started to drag just a little bit near the end but not enough to become too much of a deterrent. With that said, it was still some good stuff.

About Greg 1001 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.