Kara – Lupin

Release Date:  February 19, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Tasty Love
  2. Lupin
  3. Umbrella
  4. Rollin
  5. Lonely


Lupin is Kara’s 3rd mini-album and is the groups first comeback concept for 2010. Image wise the group is shown as more mature and mysterious in comparison to their previous incarnations. Musically they’re pretty much the same as they were before.

That’s not exactly a bad thing as the songs here are close to the material this group has put out in the past. The title track (Lupin) is the closest you’ll get something that matches their darker image. The rest is (for me) overly cute pop. I don’t see that as a negative since songs like Umbrella, Tasty Love and the ballad Lonely are nice bits of ear candy.

But given that the group sounded pretty damn good over more aggressive production (such as Lupin) I was kind of hoping for a few more similar sounding songs. Yet despite all that, I think this album as a whole is some quality stuff.

About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.