Best Destiny / Miriya Kato

Track Listing

  1. Koi Shiteru
  2. Kono Mama Zutto Asa Made
  3. Dear Lonely Girl
  4. 19 Memories
  5. Jounetsu
  6. Ai ga Kieta Hi
  7. Better Days ~Sweet Love Side~
  8. For So Long
  9. So Gooood
  10. Yozora
  11. One Day (Yozora Remix)
  12. For So Long Part 2
  13. Michelle ~Ai no Theme Remix~
  14. Futurechecka


Kato Miliyah is an R&B artist signed to Sony Music Japan. Best Destiny is her 4th album. This is a compilation of songs that use a lot of familiar samples & I was able to catch quite a few of them.

  • Koi Shiteru = Shanice – I Love Your Smile
  • Kono Mama Zutto Asa Made = Tanto Metro & Devonte – Everyone Falls In Love
  • Dear Lonely Girl = Marvin Gaye – Sexual Healing
  • 19 Memories = Namie Amuro – Sweet 19 Blues
  • For So Long / For So Long Part 2 = m-flo – Been So Long

There were a couple of other songs I was familiar with on this album. Those being One Day (a collaboration with m-flo) & Better Days, with the latter being more interesting. I’ve never heard the Miliyah only version before. It’s nice but I prefer the version with Dohzi-T & Tanaka Roma because I think the male vocals & rapping make the song more cohesive.

Besides the familiar I also thought that Yozora was a pretty hot slice of Hip-Pop. I know I’ve heard the sample before but I can’t place my finger on it. I know it’s an m-flo track though. Futurechecka is basically a track full of MC’s bragging about this & that, but I do like the beat. It has an old school feel to it. Lastly, Michelle ~Ai no Theme Remix~ kind of sounds like an Exile track, good stuff.

I found this to be a great album. Maybe because I was familiar with a lot of the music used to build these productions so I didn’t have to try too hard to like some songs. It really doesn’t matter though, the songs built off all those samples are quality tracks.