Kimberley Chen – Kimbonomics Review

Kimberley Chen

Released December 25, 2013

Track Listing

  1. 分手說愛你 (Break Up Club)
  2. 世界毀滅 (World Destruction)
  3. 你在身邊 (You Are Around)
  4. Good Girl趕快愛 (Good Girl Hurry Up With Love)
  5. Over The Moon
  6. 寂寞咆哮 (Lonely Roar)
  7. 有愛直說 (Just Say You Have Love)
  8. Run
  9. I Loved U Before It Was Cool
  10. 我會再想你 (I Will Think of You Again)


I first discovered Kimberley near the end of 2012 as I was going through various “Best of” lists. Her video I enjoyed enough to place it in my Roundup of that year. I had written, “She has that IU appeal with her image and this video. Can’t go wrong with that, right?” In retrospect, it was a narrow description of her even with me just learning of her at the time. After listening to her music thoroughly, I enjoy Kimberley’s music just the same as IU.

It shouldn’t come as a surprise however, that there is a Western pop music influence here, a trend in modern-day Asian pop. The lead single, Good Girl Hurry Up With Love sounds like a Top 40 hit complete with a rapper feature. While it isn’t my favorite song here, I do like it. But to some that may bother some, but that doesn’t ruin the rest of the album experience.

One of my favorite songs is the opening track, Break Up Club. It’s the kind of C-pop music I tend to enjoy; A minimal amount of production with strong operatic vocals that result in a song that is seemingly about love of some kind.  In fact, the album outside of a few songs is that mixture. That creates a soulfulness and a blend of songs that come together to be better than the sum of its parts.

In the past, I’ve been a stickler for sequencing. Not only what the songs sound like, but how the songs come together to create a project, and the order of the songs is important to me. The second half of the album does veer into the Western pop influence with songs like Just Say You Have Love and the completely in English song I Loved U Before It Was Cool. I think it works. During multiple listens, the change from the previously mentioned soulfulness and softer production to the more catchy, bubblegum sound was never jarring.

Having a song recorded in English isn’t out of the norm for Kimberley, as she had English songs on her debut album back in 2012. It’s a nice novelty, and while the song itself isn’t terrible by any means, in the scope of the album, its addition on the track listing doesn’t add much, and skipping the song wouldn’t take anything from the experience either. It may work for some, and it might not. But she does mention Biggie’s One More Chance in the song, so there is something there to look forward too.

In the end, Kimbonomics is an album worth listening to. Creating an album that has synergy and sounds like a complete project should be rewarded. I hope Kimberley continues to put out albums that has a clear direction and theme to it.



About ToZ 121 Articles
TOZ is Selective Hearing’s resident Urban music aficionado. He also has a keen interest in K-Pop, sneakers, Star Trek and long walks on the beach.