Mano Erina – More Friends Over

Mano Erina More Friends Over Limited

Release Date: March 28, 2012

Track Listing

  1. Junjou Keisatsu K·I·S·S
  2. Glory Days
  3. Seishun no Serenade
  4. ~’Shinkou wa Michiko’ no Jikan 1~
  5. Eien ~Tasogare Kousaten Time Goes By~
  6. Nekketsu Sensei
  7. I Have A Dream
  8. ~’Shinkou wa Michiko’ no Jikan 2~
  9. BANZAI! ~Jinsei wa Meccha WANDAHOO!~
  10. Kaze no Bara ~Aruite Chizu o Tsukutta Otoko no UTA~
  11. Anata ga Iru Kara
  12. ~’Shinkou wa Michiko’ no Jikan 3~
  13. My Days For You
  14. Tenkeyohou ga Atattara
  15. ~’Shinkou wa…’


Mano Erina’s 3rd studio album probably has the dumbest title out of the many Hello! Project releases in 2012, or maybe ever. I’m all for not conforming to the numbering system that is the standard for any H!P release but maybe coming up with something other than adding an extra word to the previous album’s title would have sufficed. Stupid title aside, what about the music on this album? Does it continue Mano Erina’s evolution to a well rounded idol?

Well she’s definitely not the bland pop tart we heard way back on her debut single anymore. You can hear massive  improvements from back then to now. She seems much more capable of handling the schizophrenic styles that Hello! Project is known for and my biggest complaint about her has been obliterated. That is her lack of any emotion when she sings. When I first heard Mano Erina’s solo work I thought I was listening to an android or a very bored young girl. That definitely isn’t the case now.

Now she has come full circle  with this lamely titled album. (Again, even lamer than her 2nd album’s title.) Gone are the attempts at adult contemporary middle of the road “meh” sounding pop. What you get on More Friends Over is the Mano Erina UFA probably envisioned when they pulled her out of the Eggs/Ongaku Gatas those many moons ago. A true soloist to take the spot vacated through graduation, age and mismanagement of assets.

There isn’t a lot to complain about with the songs on More Friends Over. There may be a few painful notes that were not treated by correct use of auto-tune and the interludes were fairly pointless but otherwise there are many great tracks to choose from for your listening pleasure outside of the previously released singles.

I would suggest going directly to Nekkutsu Sensei, BANZAI! ~Jinsei wa Meccha WANDAHOO!~ and  Kaze no Bara ~Aruite Chizu o Tsukutta Otoko no UTA~ if you’re in the mood for a quicky from this album. If you a have the fever for some retro flavor then give I Have A Dream a listen as well.

Overall More Friends Over is a surprisingly cohesive, and focused effort from the Hello! Project camp. It’s not going to pull the miracle of converting the Mano Eri detractors/haters. I mean if you don’t like this girl by this point I doubt your opinion will sway with one album of actual consistency. But if it does, good for you.

More Friends Over (Regular Edition)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

More Friends Over (Limited Edition)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

About Greg 1078 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.