Narsha – Narsha

Narsha - Narsha

Release Date: July 12, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Fantastic
  2. 삐리빠빠 BbiRi BbaBba
  3. I’m In Love (With 정성하)
  4. Queen B
  5. Radio Star
  6. 맘마미아 (Preview)
  7. 삐리빠빠 (Inst.)


Brown Eyed Girls member Narsha goes solo with her first self titled mini-album. Those familiar with her parent groups Sound G album should have no problem getting into this. What makes this somewhat different from BEG is that there’s a bit more of a R&B/Pop kind of polish instead of the typical K-Pop Electro influence.

Anyone familiar with BEG knows that each member is incredibly vocally gifted and Narsha is no exception. Her voice is in fine form throughout this album. It’s especially evident on the ballad I’m In Love. It’s an understated track that perfectly showcases her voice.

The lead single BbiRi BbaBba (um.. how do you pronounce that by the way?) is a blend of funk and pop that is just a joy to listen to and is completely different from any recent pop releases (Korean, Japanese or American) at the moment.

The last track worth mentioning is Radio Star. It’s kind of a throwback to the early BEG sound which leaned more towards contemporary R&B than the current K-Pop sound. Very good stuff that again places emphasis on Narsha’s sultry vocals and doesn’t drown her out in instrumentation.

I was expecting another by  the numbers album but I was surprised at what I heard. This was a much more subtle and well thought out approach and for that fact alone it stands out among the recent K-Pop releases.

Highly recommended.


YesAsia Logo

About Greg 995 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.