Secret – Moving in Secret

Track Listing

1. Love is MOVE
2. Sexy
3. Don’t Laugh
4. Movie Star
5. AMAZINGER (Zinger Solo)
6. Together
7. I Hope
8. Bastard
9. Neverland
10. Love is Move (Instrumental)

Released October 18, 2011

After a couple of mini-albums, TS Entertainment’s Secret has released their first album, Moving in Secret. It’s been two years since they first debuted and compared to their contemporaries having their first studio album released now is different. Differentiating themselves more, they release this album during the same week SNSD released The Boys, where other groups decided to stay clear of the juggernaut.

Moving in Secret from top to bottom is quality. The single Love is MOVE sounds like what you expect from Secret: strong vocals, simple hooks and a catchy melody. While simple and catchy might not necessarily amount to quality, it’s in the execution that makes this single shine.

This album has a good eclectic mix of sounds to them. Don’t Laugh and Together provides the slower, more soft tones while Sexy has the upbeat, dance-in-your-chair vibe. Movie Star is a delight with is glamorous 60’s-esque sound. Bastard taps into the electo-pop genre but doesn’t go overboard with it.

The most noteworthy song here and the conversation-starter of the album, AMAZINGER (Zinger’s Solo). Similar to how on the Wu-Tang Clan’s debut album, member Method Man had a solo song, Zinger gets to flex her rhymes. The beat has a clear G-Funk influence on it. The song does stick out from the album. But it works here. It works because Zinger is the group’s dedicated rapper but also since the album as a whole contains different tastes of music that it works. It might turn off others but I see it as a plus.

If Secret can continue to expand their music and maintain the quality, it’s not hard to see them giving every musical act in Kpop a run for their money. Waiting two years for a full studio album release might have been the best call. Not because Secret was “bad” or anything of the sort, rather, the time allowed their existing skills to develop. I don’t think Secret could have put this album out back in 2009 or even in 2010. Now Secret is hitting their stride.

Moving In Secret

YesAsia Logo

About ToZ 121 Articles
TOZ is Selective Hearing’s resident Urban music aficionado. He also has a keen interest in K-Pop, sneakers, Star Trek and long walks on the beach.