Shion Miyawaki – Dear

Shion Miyawaki Dear

Release Date: August 6, 2008

Track Listing

  1. Flavor
  2. You’re Butterfly (-MAKAI Original Mix -)
  3. Story
  4. Soba ni Itai
  5. Touch Me
  6. Flavor feat. BABE.RYOTOA (0 Soul 7) [-Longest Summer Groove Mix-]


Dear is the first E.P. from Avex Academy graduate Shion Miyawaki. She is probably most familiar to those who watch MTV Japan’s Shibuhara Girls but way back in 2008 she debuted with this mini-album. The selling points of Dear were the collaboration with MAKAI (You’re Butterfly) and the single Flavor.

With both tracks taking the lead this album failed to hit the Oricon chart which is a shame because there is a some quality Dance/Pop and light R&B that were typical of the genres during that period of time. I can only guess that this did not appeal to the general public and/or it was marketed poorly.

It’s not like Miywaki has a horrible voice or anything. She sounds like a competent singer for the genres on this E.P. The previously mentioned singles and Touch Me can easily pass for a Japanese BoA song of that year. I’d say that’s a fairly impressive feat in itself. Also impressive is what is on here stands the test of time quite well. That’s something a lot of J-Pop cannot claim.

While it puzzles me why this didn’t do so well I do recommend that you give this a spin.


CDJapan Logo

About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.