Swinging Popsicle spreads Joy at special one-man live

Swinging Popsicle held an intimate, limited-access one-man live at Tokyo’s Mona Records on July 22, 2017.

The concert featured some of the band’s most popular hits from their two decades together, and fans received a special venue-only CD single featured a re-recording of the band’s debut single “Joy Of Living”, first released twenty years ago on July 21, 1997.


This new single, re-titled “JoL”, is presented for the first time with its original English lyrics. Band leader Hironobu Hirata commented, “When we debuted with Sony Records in 1997, we changed the lyrics to Japanese. Now, 20 years later, we’re excited to celebrate the anniversary with our fans and let them hear the beginning of it all.”


1. Wander in their dreams
2. Sunny silent park
3. Shiny days
4. I love your smile
5. Tooi Sora
6. Heaven
7. Satetsu no tou
9. Perfect Loop
10. Parade
11. Afterglow
12. Asobi ni Oide yo
13. Ruby
14. Chocolate Soul Music
15. Joy of Living


16. friend of mine
17. I just wanna kiss you


Swinging Popsicle’s next live show “Add Some Music To Your Day” is scheduled for August 8 at Shimokitazawa Club 440. Their most recent release, the 6-song EP flow, is available now on iTunes.

Official Website: http://www.swinging-popsicle.com
Swinging Popsicle Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Swinging-Popsicle
Swinging Popsicle Twitter: https://twitter.com/swingingpopsicl
Swinging Popsicle 20th Anniversary Special Site: https://www.swinging-popsicle-20th.com



Swinging Popsicle was formed in 1995 when singer Mineko Fujishima and guitarist Osamu Shimada joined bassist Hironobu Hirata through a newspaper ad. The band’s first effort was the Sunny Silent Park EP.

In 1998, their first self-titled full-length album Swinging Popsicle debuted from Sony Music Entertainment at Number 1 in the New Artists category, producing the hit singles “Joy of Living,” “I Love Your Smile,” and “Parade.” After extensive touring, the band returned to the studio for their second album Fennec! (2000).

After starting strong with multiple Sony-label releases, Swinging Popsicle continued to build their international fan base with their independent releases of Change and Orange. Four solid years of writing and performing live throughout Japan produced their most mature and powerful CD titled Transit (2004), featuring signature song “I Just Wanna Kiss You.” In 2005, the band embarked on their first tour to Korea.

2006 marked their United States debut at Fanime MusicFest in San Jose, CA. The same year their song “Clash” was included in a compilation CD with the Korean manga “Cracker.” Performing to regular sold-out one-man live shows in Japan, (some running as long as 3 hours!) the band continued to develop new material for their full-length album Go on (2007), which featured “rainbounds,” “Clash,” and “Chocolate Soul Music.” In June 2007, they returned to America to perform at Anime Mid Atlantic in Richmond, VA, and New York Anime Festival at NYC’s Knitting Factory.

Swinging Popsicle has also contributed music to the NITROPLUS PC games STAR MINE GIRL (SUMAGA), AXANAEL, Kimi to Kanojo to Kanojo to Koi, and various songs for the Nitroplus mascot Super Sonico’s band, Daiichi Uchuu Sokudo. In 2009, the band released the CD Loud Cut, collecting their soundtrack work and remastered versions of some of the member’s favorite early tracks including “Afterglow” and “Let Me Fly”.

Swinging Popsicle members have kept busy in recent years with various solo projects. Guitarist Osamu Shimada formed his own shoegazer band The Caraway and lends support to Seikama II’s Ace Shimizu Project, Face to Ace, Korean pop vocalist Taru, and popular J-Pop artist Fujii Fumiya. Vocalist Mineko Fujishima has performed backing vocals with top-selling J-Pop R&B artist Kusuo, and performs regularly with the experimental 9-drummer band DQS.

Bassist/band leader Hironobu Hirata has acted as music producer for the NITROPLUS games SUMAGA, SUMAGA Special, AXANAEL, and Sonicomi, and provided musical arrangements for artists such as 7!!, Kanako Ito, Kazuhiro Watanabe, Taru (Korea), Yozoh (Korea), and Daiichi Uchuu Sokudo. Hirata also plays support bass for Kusuo and DQS, and was the band leader for Kusuo’s 2012 Budokan live concert. His producer and composition work for Super Sonico’s Love & II+ Peace Plus brought him into Oricon’s Top 50 in June 2012.

Beginning their 20th anniversary celebration in 2015, Swinging Popsicle released their new album flow on December 10, 2015.

Swinging Popsicle was nominated as Best Japanese Rock Band by Shojo Beat magazine.
USA appearances include: Fanime (San Jose, CA), Anime Mid-Atlantic (Richmond, VA), New York Anime Festival (New York City)