Taeyang – Solar

Tae Yang Solar

Release Date: July 1, 2010

Track Listing

  1. Solar (Intro)
  2. Superstar
  3. I Need A Girl (feat. G-Dragon)
  4. Just A Feeling
  5. You’re My
  6. Move (feat. Teddy)
  7. Break Down
  8. Before You Fall Asleep
  9. Where U At
  10. Wedding Dress
  11. Take It Slow


Solar is the debut full length album from Big Bang member Taeyang and is the follow up to his mini-album Hot which was released back in 2008. This album includes the previously released Where U At and Wedding Dress and the deluxe version comes with 2 extra tracks Look Only At Me and Prayer.

Last year we had G-Dragon doing the solo rounds and he was quite successful. This year it’s Taeyang’s turn and from the sounds of Solar it looks like he will be experiencing similar success. The overall sound of this album fits somewhere between Dance Pop and R&B.

The most recent single I Need A Girl (feat. G-Dragon) and You’re My are the mister lover man type of grooves that are sweet, romantic and just fall short of sounding like begging for ass.

The latter being an example of the previous statement with it’s simple Rhodes background, somewhat cheesy English and Taeyang hitting Prince-like high notes.

Songs like Superstar and Before You Fall Asleep and Just A Feeling are similar to would hear from Big Bang. They kind of set up the blueprint for the up tempo songs on this album, so if you don’t mind hearing something familiar then it’s all good.

This is another winner out of the Big Bang camp. It may not be as groundbreaking musically as some would like but that’s okay,  it’s still some great stuff.


YesAsia Logo

About Greg 1082 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.