Teriyaki Boyz – Serious Japanese

Serious Japanese / TERIYAKI BOYZ

Track Listing

  1. Please Come Intro
  2. Work That!
  3. After 5 (A.M.)
  4. Tokyo Drift (Fast & Furious)
  5. Sweet Girl
  6. Teriyaking
  7. 5Th Element
  8. Serious Japanese
  9. Zock On!
  10. (Can’t) Bake That Fape
  11. Itsumo It’s More
  12. I Still Love H.E.R.
  13. Get The Hell Out Outro
  14. Tokyo Drift (Fast & Furious) Remix


This is the Teriyaki Boyz second album, it was released in Japan on January 28, 2009 & internationally on February 3, 2009.

Much like Beef or Chicken this album is loaded with productions from heavyweights in Hip-Hop (The Neptunes, Kanye West) & R&B (Jermaine Dupri), although there isn’t much represented from Electronic music this time with only Towa Tei representing.  Looking through the production credits, it seems that this is more focused on the Urban genre than it’s predecessor.

There are several previously released singles on this album (Tokyo Drift, I Still Love H.E.R., Zock On!) with many probably being familiar with Tokyo Drift (Fast & Furious).  While that is a killer track, there are other songs worth investing in such as the previously mentioned I Still Love H.E.R.

It’s a Kanye West production that brings back memories of  the old school.  The only bad thing about that track is Kanye’s verse is totally off topic in comparision to what everyone else was saying so it kind of ruins the vibe.  But up to that point, the track is some sweet stuff.

After 5 (A.M.) is an interesting bit dance influenced Hip-Hop which is enhanced with the tiny bit of borrowing of Leaders Of The New School’s Case Of The P.T.A. in the chorus.  A really nice touch for those who remember that song.

Sweet Girl is a song that makes healthy use of the Auto-Tune effects that are so popular these days.  Thankfully it’s not used as a crutch to carry the entire song & is more of an accent.  Very smooth track that fits squarely within the Hip-Hop/R&B crossover territory.

Overall I found this to be a more cohesive album than their debut.  This collection of songs seemed to compliment each other more & it made for a seamless & enjoyable listening experience.  Great stuff, worth picking up.

About Greg 973 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.