The Ting Tings – Sounds from Nowheresville

Released February 24, 2012

Track Listing

  1. Silence
  2. Hit Me Down Sonny
  3. Hang It Up
  4. Give It Back
  5. Guggenheim
  6. Soul Killing
  7. One By One
  8. Day To Day
  9. Help
  10. In Your Life


Sounds from Nowheresville marks the second album from the English two-some. The album did cause a bit of a ruckus when midway in recording, the duo decided to scrap more than half of the album and essentially start over. They ultimately settled on this 10 track, 33 minute long opus, released earlier in 2012.

It being so short is what makes this album. When I first listened to the album, I sat at my computer doing some light work, but nothing too engaging so I could pay attention to the album. There were some standouts like Guggenheim and Hit Me Down Sonny, and the other tracks were solid. End of story, write review and publish.

But, I later realized that wouldn’t have worked. Well, it would have for the review, yet I thought I needed to give the album a few more spins. So I decided to play the album as I did house work. Doing my laundry and cooking, I had Ting Tings playing. That’s when this album really clicked for me. The songs that stood out initially still did, but for the duration of the album, I heard an album that works best as a sum, rather than songs thrown together. There’s a swing of emotions here from front to back. Just be part of the ride.

The album is meant to be heard during the day to day activities. Go for a long walk, take a drive around your town, or go get some errands done. The album doesn’t all of a sudden breakdown under heavy scrutiny. It just works best when you just allow it to happen. Just let the album take you from one one feeling to another. It’s a journey. A short, sweet journey.

Along with the aforementioned songs, other songs just like Soul Killing, Day To Day and In Your Life are highlights. I think Sounds from Nowheresville is worth a purchase. Just don’t chalk out time to listen to it, listen to it while doing other things. Trust me.

Sounds from Nowheresville


About ToZ 121 Articles
TOZ is Selective Hearing’s resident Urban music aficionado. He also has a keen interest in K-Pop, sneakers, Star Trek and long walks on the beach.