Thelma Aoyama – Diary

Diary / Thelma Aoyama

Track Listing

  1. My Beginning
  2. Soba ni Iru Ne feat. SoulJa
  3. One Way
  4. My Dear Friend
  5. Last Letter
  6. Rhythm
  7. Good Time Remix feat. MIKU from YA-KYIM
  8. Higher
  9. Paradise
  10. This Day feat. Dohzi-T
  11. Kono Mama de
  12. Anata ni Aete Yokatta
  13. Mame e
  14. Diary


Thelma Aoyama is an J-Pop/R&B singer who is most well-known for her collaborations with SoulJa.  Diary is her debut album & it was was released on March 26, 2008.

The album starts of with a short spoken intro in English & goes right into familiar territory with Soba ni Iru ne.  The song is the answer track to SoulJa’s Koko ni Iru yo & shares many similarities to that song, including the same chorus.  It’s a sweet piano driven ballad that shows off the softness of Aoyama’s voice quite nicely.

The only other single release included on this album is her debut One Way, which sounds similar to the Reggae/Dancehall stylings that one would hear from MINMI.  The rest of the songs on the album fall squarely within the Pop/R&B mold.  The more outstanding tracks being Last Letter, Good Time Remix, Higher, This Day & Anata ni Aete Yokatta.

Aoyama definitely has some vocal chops.  I was impressed & was glad that she didn’t attempt any crazy vocal gymnastics & ruin her songs like so many R&B singers do these days.  Anyway, I think this is a fairly solid debut.  Although it moved at a good pace it could have been trimmed down by a couple of tracks to tighten things up a bit more.

Otherwise, a good listening experience.

About Greg 973 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.