Tigarah e Laura – This World Is My Playground Review


Release Date: August 5, 2015

Track Listing

  1. Spunky Afro Tiger Jet
  2. Funky Wonderland
  3. Party Monsters
  4. Touch Myself
  5. Give Me Everything
  6. To All You Haters
  7. We’re Gonna Rise
  8. Get My Way
  9. Come With Me
  10. Magic Power
  11. Onigiri Hunt
  12. Beautiful Sunday
  13. The Gurl Is On The Table feat. Tropkillaz


Tigarah is a Japanese rapper whose music contains elements of Hip-Hop, J-Pop, Grime, Baile Funk, Miami Bass, Baltimore Club and Glitch Hop. She is a multifaceted MC who can rap/sing in English, Japanese and French.

She has lived in the USA, France and Brazil, eventually returning to Japan to release her EP “TIGARAH!” and her first album “The Funkeira goes BANG!” in 2009. In 2012 her first mix tape “Moshi Moshi Bomb” was released and in 2015 her new album “This World Is My Playground” dropped under a new moniker Tigarah e Laura.

On this album Tigarah splits her style into 2 characters to show off the angelic and demonic side of being a musician. “Tigarah e Laura” are twin sisters with Laura representing the traditional “good girl” J-pop image and Tigarah representing the “bad girl” alter ego, pushing the limits of the songwriting process with a raw, darker style.

“This World Is My Playground” is described as a mash up of fashion, dance and music worlds to bring listeners something fun, unique and a little bit crazy.

So does the album live up to that billing? Well it certainly smacks you in face right from the start with the opening track Spunky Afro Tiger Jet and doesn’t let go. The tracks alternate from the Tigarah and Laura alter egos throughout so there’s no definite split between the two personas. That doesn’t necessarily hinder the flow of the album since many of the songs compliment each other.

The majority of the tracks on this album are high-energy dance music that fit within the popular EDM movement that has been dominating the airwaves over the past few years.

Of those types of songs the singles Spunky Afro Tiger Jet and Funky Wonderland are good places to start your journey into “This World Is My Playground”. Party Monsters and We’re Gonna Rise are good follow up album cuts to hit up next.

If you’re looking for something a bit more aggressive, turn to the songs that have some street swagger such as Give Me Everything, To All You Haters and Hip-Hop flavor of The Gurl Is On The Table.

There is one slow-ish song on This World Is My Playground and that is Beautiful Sunday. It sounds out of place with all the frantic music that comes before and after it. The song by itself is very good and a refreshing change of pace, but in the grand scheme of the album overall it sticks out like a sore thumb.

In the end This World Is My Playground does live up the billing of being fun, unique and a bit crazy and it’s also a great workout for any subwoofers that may need some booming beats to keep them in shape. If you have a weak constitution for such things then this album may be a bit of a sensory overload. Otherwise give it a go.


Tigarah e Laura Official Website – http://www.tigarah-e-laura.com/

Tigarah e Laura Facebook Page – https://www.facebook.com/TigaraheLaura

Tigarah e Laura Twitter – https://twitter.com/tigarahelaura

Tigarah e Laura Instagram – https://instagram.com/tigarahelaura

This World Is My Playground


About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.