Watarirouka Hashiritai 7 – Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke

Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke

Release Date: May 30, 2012

Track Listing:

  1. Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke
  2. Hesa ga Magaru (Ota Aika) [Regular Edition]
  3. Kimi wa Kangaeru
  4. Shimai Donburi (Watanabe Mayu / Urano Kazum) [Jacket A]
  5. Renai Heavy Kyuu Champion(Watanabe Mayu / Nakagawa Haruka / Kikuchi Ayaka / Iwasa Misak) [Jacket B]
  6. Nante Suteki na Ahiru no Boat (Watanabe Mayu / Ota Aika / Komori Mika) [Jacket C]
  7. Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke (Instrumental)
  8. Hesa ga Magaru (Instrumenal) [Regular Editon]
  9. Kimi wa Kangaeru (Instrumental)
  10. Shimai Donburi (Instrumental) [Jacket A]
  11. Renai Heavy Kyuu Champion (Instrumental) [Jacket B]
  12. Nante Suteki na Ahiru no Boat (Instrumental) [Jacket C]


Watarirouka Hashiritai 7’s tenth single Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke is the theme song for Eiga Crayon Shin chan Arashi wo Yobu! Ora to Uchuu no Princess (Try saying that 5 times fast.) and it is also the first single without Hirajima Natsumi.

This is my first official review of this group’s material. My only previous exposure to them being the video for Kibou Sanmyaku. If ever there was an idol drinking & fighting song that’s comparable to Chumbawamba, that’s definitely it.

With their latest single Watarirouka Hashiritai 7 have decided to add a bit of education to their upbeat pop by teaching us the alphabet and how to count to 10. Isn’t that nice of them? It’s like a 48 Family edition of Sesame Street.

All kidding aside, the use of the above actually makes for a rather creative hook during the chorus. I would like to warn everyone, there is a high amount of idol squeak in this song, so if that grinds your gears perhaps you might want to stay away. But if you’ve built up a high tolerance then by all means partake many times.

Much like every other idol single in existence there are multiple versions that come with different b-sides. Out of that batch of songs the one to grab is from Version C, Nante Suteki na Ahiru no Boat. That track is some ear captivating stuff right from the first note. This may be blasphemy to some 48 fans but this song sounds like it would fit right in with Biyuuden’s material. Feel free to disagree if you like.

Ota Aika’s song Heso ga Magaru is the other highlight of the b-sides. It does have the feeling of the kind of thing you would hear in the background of an Austin Powers movie. That’s not necessarily a bad thing. I happen to dig the vibe of this track a lot. At least the concept isn’t milked to its fullest extent like other idol songs (Hi K-Pop!) tend to do.

Overall I found this to be a fun release that will inspire me to go through this group’s back catalog to find out what else I’ve been missing out on.

Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke (Regular Edition)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke (Jacket A)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke (Jacket B)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

Shounen yo Uso wo Tsuke (Jacket C)

YesAsia LogoCDJapan Logo

About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.