TWICE – Ready To Be Review


Release Date: March 10, 2023

Track Listing

  1. Set Me Free
  2. Moonlight Sunrise
  3. Got The Thrills
  4. Blame It On Me
  5. Wallflower
  6. Crazy Stupid Love
  7. Set Me Free (Eng)


In December 2022, TWICE announced they would return in the first quarter of 2023, starting with a pre-release English-language single in January and then their 12th EP in March.

Their English-language single from January is Moonlight Sunrise. A single that I reviewed back when it was initially released. So if you want to look at my thoughts about that song, you can read my review.

To Be Free is the follow-up to Moonlight Sunrise, featuring Set Me Free as its title track. While not as obviously retro as Moonlight Sunrise, Set Me Free has touches of disco strings and funk bass to give it enough of an old-school feel. As a result, this may not be as captivating on the first spin and could be a slow grower for some listeners.

The b-sides are somewhat standard material for TWICE. However, the one that stands out like a sore thumb (in a good way) is Blame It On Me. TWICE doing their thing on a dirty rock track sounds impossible when you look at the sound that dominates their discography. But they pull it off successfully.

The other b-side I want to mention is Got The Thrills. It isn’t necessarily any different from the typical modern TWICE song template, yet it does slot in nicely after the two singles making for a great trifecta of songs to start this EP.

Sonically, Ready To Be aligns with many recent TWICE releases. So other than Blame It On Me, you won’t find too much that deviates from their current norm. And that will most likely be enough for many Once’s.

Stream on Apple Music
Stream on Spotify
Buy from YesAsia (Random Version)
Buy from YesAsia (Random Version + Random Photocard Set + Random Folded Poster)

  • Traxsource-Banner