BAND-MAID – Just Bring It Review

BAND-MAID Just Bring It Cover

Release Date: January 11, 2017

Track Listing

  1. Don’t You Tell Me
  2. Puzzle
  3. Moratorium
  4. YOLO
  5. Cross
  6. OOPArts
  7. Take Me Higher!!
  8. So, What?
  9. Time
  10. You
  11. Awkward
  12. Decided by Myself
  13. Secret My Lips


After three mini-albums, an appearance at Sakura-con and a world tour that took them to South America, Europe and Asia; BAND-MAID have released their first full-length studio album Just Bring It. Its featured singles are YOLO and Don’t Tell Me.

There has been some significant growth for this band since we last visited them on their first mini-album Maid In Japan. They sound like a more refined unit and their songs seem to have an added bit of polish on them.

That might not satisfy folks who like a bit of a rawness in their rock acts, yet one cannot deny that their formula is rather successful regardless of whether there’s some pop sheen or not on this band.

For their first full-length BAND-MAID have gone into full “rock on” mode. You are not going to find anything resembling a true ballad on Just Bring It. The blistering pace might wear some listeners out early as some songs might start to sound similar to each other rather quickly. A lot of how much you can take will depend on what your own personal tolerance.

Besides the two singles other songs worth checking out include CROSS and Take Me Higher!! Those four tracks should give you a good representation of what to expect from this album.

If you are looking for any type of reprieve from the frantic energy the album kind of slows down when you get to a track called Awkward. It is deceiving as it does pick up speed midway through the song. Then it’s business as usual after.

Overall Just Bring makes a bold statement in regards to what kind of sound BAND-MAID wants to be their trademark. Sure they don’t really veer off from what has made them increasingly popular over the years and that really isn’t a bad thing. There’s nothing wrong with consistency after all.

If you have not had the opportunity to give this band a chance Just Bring It is an excellent entry point to get into BAND-MAID. Should you be already be part of their fan base then you will be treated to more goodness to add to your collection.

Just Bring It (Regular Edition)

Just Bring It (Limited Edition)

Just Bring It

About Greg 1010 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.