E-girls Colorful Pop Review

E-girls Colorful Pop

Release Date: March 19, 2014

Track Listing

    1. RYDEEN ~Dance All Night~
    2. Gomennasai no Kissing You
    3. Diamond Only
    4. ASAP
    5. Fancy Baby
    6. Sayonara
    7. Mirai e
    8. Chewing Gum
    9. Kurukuru
    10. I Heard A Rumor ~Uwasa Wassap!~
    11. Koi no Boogie Woogie Train
    12. Winter Love ~Ai no Okurimono~
    13. Yakusoku no Basho
    14. Follow Me –Colorful Rock-


E-girls are comprised of members from the female units of the EXILE family: Dream, Happiness, Flower, Bunny and EGD. Colorful Pop is the group’s second album and features the singles Gomennasai no Kissing You, Kurukuru and Diamond Only.

2013 saw the rise of the females in the EXILE camp with E-girls finding success with their debut album Lesson 1.  2014 sees the group looking to continue their upward trend with the release of Colorful Pop.

If you have heard an E-girls song before you can probably guess what the material on this album will sound like. There’s not much deviation from their dance pop formula. It’s actually a major knock against this group since they’re not really given anything other than safe, middle of the road productions to work with.

For example, if you listen to some of the dance only versions of their tracks you can hear they are much more ambitious than what you’re going to get on this album. So if you want somewhat remotely interesting tunes than you will probably not enjoy Colorful Pop much.

But if you don’t mind a bit of reliable, non-offensive pop than this album will certainly fit your needs. The tracks that are more attention grabbing are the faster ones such as ASAP, Fancy Baby, Koi no Boogie Woogie Train and the covers of Yellow Magic Orchestra’s RYEDEEN and Bananarama’s I Heard A Rumor.

Sadly the ballads and mid tempo tracks on this album are fairly blah. You might be better off searching the catalogs of the individual groups that make the E-girls if you want something relaxing to chill to.

Whether you buy this will depend on few factors. How loyal are you to LDH and the EXILE family and do you feel obligation to pick up whatever they release? Do you like any of the groups within the E-girls? And most importantly, are you just looking for something simple and fun to listen to?  If you’re able to confidently answer any of the questions give Colorful Pop a spin.

Colorful Pop (CD Only)


Colorful Pop (CD+DVD)


Colorful Pop (iTunes)


About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.