Ga-In – Hawwah Review


Release Date: March 17, 2015

Track Listing

  1. Apple feat. Jay Park
  2. Free Will feat. Dok2
  3. Paradise Lost
  4. The First Temptation
  5. Two Women
  6. Guilty


Hawwah is the fourth EP from Brown Eyed Girls member Ga-In. The album features two lead singles, Apple and Paradise Lost. The album’s title is inspired by the bible, where it is a modernized reinterpretation of this first woman created by God.

Never being one to shy away from different musical styles, Ga-In continues to expand her repertoire for her solo works. This time weaving through various genres, including hip-hop, jazz, retro pop, ballads and dance music.

The lead singles show two different sides to Ga-In. Apple is a cutesy track expressing a desire for forbidden fruit featuring a guest rap by Jay Park. Paradise Lost is a darker track that takes more biblical inspiration with lyrics about Adam and Eve (a.k.a. Hawwah) being banished from the Garden of Eden.

For those willing to dive into this EP past the singles, Free Will featuring Dok2 should be the first stop on your journey. It’s a bit of a retro groove mixed with light drum and bass instrumentation. Some might hear some of the James Bond Theme in this as well.

The other recommended track is the acoustic Two Women. It’s simple, sweet and effective and fits those who like something to chill out to.

Overall, Hawwah is another fantastic outing from Ga-In from beginning to end. Maybe the next time, she will go with a full-length album instead. All these EPs are beginning to feel like one long tease.

  • BeatPort Logo