lyrical school – guidebook Review

lyrical school guidebook CD cover

Release Date: November 16, 2016

Track Listing

  1. -old-
  2. Golden
  3. Premium
  4. Oshiete
  5. Do It Now (Hey! Hey! Hey!)
  6. Summer Foundation
  7. Mitsuboshi
  8. Lyricist
  9. Magic Hour
  10. Koi wa Zuwazu
  11. -too old-
  12. Last Song


Much has changed in the world of lyrical school. Hina left the group to study abroad and pursue a career related to foreign languages. Their ranks went up again after former Rhymeberry member MC Hime (Mochida Himeka) became part of the collective in December of 2016.

Lastly they signed to a major label moving from T-Palette to King Records releasing two singles Summer Foundation and RUN AND RUN before unleashing this album. So how does their first album after their move to King Records fare?

Well it does start where SPOT left off with the group spitting rhymes over tried and true hip-hop beats. GOLDEN sounds like it takes heavy inspiration from Jurassic 5’s 2002 song What’s Golden. Premium on the other hand combines bits of 80’s old school with touches of 8-bit sounds.

And that is where that type of sound ends. You won’t be finding anything else close to what I described above on this album after. Sorry to the heads looking for this group to go hard. However, should you be looking for something equally satisfying as the opening 2 songs go directly to Lyricist, Magic Hour and Koi wa Zuwazu. Those happen to be the only pure dance oriented songs on guidebook and resemble something close to SOUL’d OUT’s high tempo pop/rap songs.

They are great if you like that particular type of genre crossover. Otherwise you can also go to the last two songs on the album (Last Song and RUN AND RUN) to get something closer to the Hip-Hop feel represented by the other songs on guidebook.

Much like their last album (and the previous material we have reviewed) the only weak spot in lyrical school’s armour is when they try to sing. They still sound pretty bad when channeling their inner diva and dropping those hooks.

With the exception of the 3 dance songs mentioned above they are pretty hit and miss. Granted they are not as bad as in the past but again, singing is still not their strongest suit.

Despite that one minor quibble I had with the album I still found that the beats were great and the group’s rhyme skills were still on point. Overall guidebook is a rather solid major label debut and is worth investing your time in if you are looking for some respectable idol flavoured Hip-Hop.


About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.