MAVE: – What’s My Name Review

MAVE What's My Name Cover

Release Date: November 30, 2023

Track Listing

  1. Everyday
  2. What’s My Name
  3. Assemble
  4. Milkshake
  5. So Fly


In January 2023, Metaverse Entertainment’s virtual idol group debuted with the single PANDORA’S BOX. The two songs were not mind-blowing by any means, but they were enough to generate interest in the potential of this type of group.

Fast forward to November 2023 and the release of their first comeback, an EP titled What’s My Name. The self-titled lead track picks up where the music on PANDORA’s BOX left off. This means you get more EDM Pop beats accompanied by a chant-worthy hook. And while the song is catchy, it feels somewhat lacking in energy compared to their debut Pandora.

The album cuts are an interesting mix of songs that trend further away from the EDM Pop sound the further you get into the EP. Assemble is a high-tempo dance workout with the excitement the title track was missing, especially in the post-chorus sections. Of the three opening songs, this is the one that has the most replayability.

Once you get to the final two songs on the EP, the sound shifts to a more pure pop style. What floats your boat will depend on your preferences. I found So Fly to be the song that demanded the most attention. It has a sugary, sweet vibe and has a sound that differs the most from the rest of the tracks on What’s My Name. It is arguably the best song on this EP.

What’s My Name was a surprisingly good album. Although I liked their debut, I was still unsure whether MAVE: could follow up with something equal or better. This EP has proven they can deliver the goods and then some.

Stream on Apple Music
Stream on Spotify

  • BeatPort Logo