Red Velvet – Ice Cream Cake Review

Red Velvet Ice Cream Cake

Release Date: March 17, 2015

Track Listing

  1. Ice Cream Cake
  2. Automatic
  3. Somethin’ Kinda Crazy
  4. Stupid Cupid
  5. Take It Slow
  6. Candy


Red Velvet is a 5-member female Korean pop group formed by SM Entertainment. Their membership consists of 2 rappers (Joy and Yeri) and 3 vocalists. (Irene, Seul Gi and Wendy) Ice Cream Cake is their debut mini-album and features the debut of the group’s fifth member Yeri and the singles Ice Cream Cake and Automatic.

The songs on Ice Cream Cake mostly cover Dance Pop and R&B territory. The two singles are front loaded at the beginning of the album to and represent the sounds presented on this album.

Once you go through the entire the entire thing you come to realize that is kind of a problem when it comes to Red Velvet. They sound like they are much better as an R&B group than a pure pop group.

This is best shown through tracks such as Automatic and Something Kinda Crazy. You can also look at Take It Slow as well, but some may consider more on the pop side. Of course that doesn’t mean that the entire album is a wash. As a whole it is up to par with other SM releases but perhaps it might have been better to pick a single musical direction and run with it.

Ice Cream Cake


About Greg 994 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.