Shinozaki Ai – Love/Hate Review


Release Date: March 22, 2017


Disc 1

  1. Peppermint
  2. True Love
  3. Itoshii
  4. Yukiataribattari no Koi
  5. Warui Neko
  6. Kuchi no warui Onna


Disc 2 (Limited Edition Only)

  1. Last Chance
  2. Saigo no Ame
  3. Tattoo
  4. Anata ni Aitakute Missing You


Shinozaki Ai is a Japanese gravure model and former member of the idol group AeLL. LOVE/HATE is her first EP release, and it features the previously released songs TRUE LOVE, Itoshii and Kuchi no Warui Onna.

This album comes in 2 versions. The regular edition is just the single disc 6-song EP. The limited edition adds a second disc containing 4 cover songs. The first disc contains 3 new songs. Peppermint, Yukiataribattari no Koi and Warui Neko. The first two tracks fall into the dance music category, with Peppermint being the pop-oriented song and Yukiataribattari no Koi having a slightly edgier club feel.

Warui Neko takes the approach of a jazzy, piano-driven number. It is a stark contrast to the rest of the material on the first disc and brings about a small change of pace from the pure pop numbers surrounding it.

The second disc contains 4 covers:

    • something else – Last Chance
    • Nakanishi Yasushi – Saigo no Ame
    • Nakamori Akina – TATTOO
    • Matsuda Seiko Anata ni Aikute ~Missing You~

Shinozaki’s covers are very faithful to the original versions, with only a few minor updates to the arrangements and instrumentation. So if you were concerned there might be a few bastardizations of your favourite old-school J-Pop songs, there is no need to worry. These songs are probably not going to appeal to everyone. If you like the nostalgic J-Pop or want to hear an adult contemporary version of Shinozaki, you should give this disc a quick listen.

Given that this EP is rather short, it would be best to pick up the limited edition version of LOVE/HATE to get the most value for your money. Otherwise, cherry-pick the songs you like if you are streaming or purchasing via digital download.

FTC Disclosure

We sometimes use affiliate links in our content for the things we write about and related products our readers may be interested in.

You are not obligated to act on these links. Still, if you do, you'll be helping offset some of the costs associated with maintaining Selective Hearing as we receive a small commission from purchases made.

Thanks for your support!