That’s My Jam: Soul Food Soundtrack

That’s My Jam is a weekly feature where one person from the Selective Hearing staff goes to wax poetic about music that is pivotal to their musical tastes. Whether that would be an album, a song, or anything in-between. We all had to start somewhere.

Soul Food Soundrack

Release Date: September 16, 1997

Track Listing

  1. Boyz II Men – A Song for Mama
  2. Blackstreet feat. Jay-Z – Call Me
  3. Milestone – I Care ‘Bout You
  4. Total feat. Missy Elliot & Timbaland – What About Us
  5. Puff Daddy feat. Lil’ Kim – Don’t Stop What You’re Doing
  6. Dru Hill – We’re Not Making Love No More
  7. Tenderoni – Baby I
  8. Xscape – Let’s Do It Again
  9. Outkast feat. Cee-Lo – In Due Time
  10. Monica & Usher – Slow Jam
  11. Tony Toni Tone – Boys and Girls
  12. En Vogue – You Are The Man
  13. Earth, Wind & Fire – September


The soundtrack to the 1997 film Soul Food was released through LaFace Records and contains a heavy dose R&B and light sprinkling of Hip-Hop.

The majority of the album features many of the major players of the Urban genre at the time and a one shot super group called Milestone. (K-Ci & Jo Jo from Jodeci and Kevon and Melvin Edmonds from After 7)

Similar to the Nutty Professor soundtrack this is a representative of some of the best that 90’s Urban music has to offer. Although in a much smoother manner due to this being spearheaded by Kenneth “Babyface” Edmonds.

Four singles from this album charted on the Billboard 100: I Care’ Bout You, What About Us? We’re Not Making Love No More and A Song For Mama.

I’ll admit that I never saw the movie this soundtrack is associated with. I’m not sure if that would influence my view on some of these songs but whatever. What is on this album pretty much embodies the type of music I cut my teeth on. It also ages me quite a bit I guess as well.

Normally soundtracks don’t necessarily feel cohesive since they’re basically just a collection of songs from individual artists. You pick and choose what you like right? To me, this is an exception, as the track placement does seem to create a bit of a narrative.

Again, since I didn’t watch the movie (and probably don’t plan to anytime soon) there probably is a deeper meaning to how the tracks on this album were arranged that will remain beyond my comprehension.

Still, there are some damn fine tracks on this album and its well worth seeking out if you’re looking for an old school fix.

About Greg 1010 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.