BoA – Watashi Kono Mama de Ii no Kana Review

BoA Watashi Kono Mama de Ii no Kana CD

Release Date: February 14, 2018

Track Listing

  1. Where am I now
  2. Arigatou Sayonara
  3. Crow
  4. Jazzclub
  5. FLY (album version)
  6. Right Here, Right Everywhere
  7. Manhattan Tango
  8. Make Me Complete
  9. Lookbook
  10. Mannish Chocolat
  11. Kiss My Lips
  12. Watashi no Kono Mama de Ii no Kana


2018 is the comeback year for BoA. Within a few short days in mid-February she released her first Korean mini-album and this, her ninth Japanese album release.

Along with the singles she brings in brand new songs for her Japanese fan base only importing one track from her most recent Korean works. BoA is unlike other Korean Pop acts in Japan in that regard. She has drawn a line between the two musical universes she exists in and caters her music to who she marketing to rather than making carbon copies of her Korean songs in Japanese.

There was a four-year gap between her last Japanese release WHO’S BACK? and now. The music on Watashi Kono Mama de Ii no Kana has a variety of songs that stick very close to the template for BoA’s typical Japanese releases. These include urban crossover tracks such as Where am I now, Sayonara Arigatou and the import from her recent Korean discography Kiss My Lips.

There are also the up-tempo cuts such as Crow, Manhattan Tango and Mannish Chocolat. There are elements in each song that make them slightly atypical of the standard BoA dance cut but not enough to really break the status quo for these types of songs. The rest of the album is comprised of slower songs and ballads. The highlights being the title track Watashi no Kono Mama de Ii no Kana and Make Me Complete.

Overall there are very few surprises when it comes to Watashi Kono Mama de Ii no Kana. It may not be as bold as her Korean mini-album that came after this release but it is worth checking out if you enjoy her brand of Japanese pop.

  • BeatPort Logo