fromis_9 – from our Memento Box Review

fromis9 from our Memento Box Cover

Release Date: June 27, 2022

Track Listing

  1. Up And
  2. Stay This Way
  3. Blind Letter
  4. Cheese
  5. Rewind


fromis_9 has slowly been developing its sound since 2020s My Little Society. As they reach their fifth mini-album, they have become masters of bubbly, danceable pop songs.

The lead single Stay This Way doesn’t stray too far from similar past a-sides like Feel Good (Secret Code) and DM.

The only real difference is that Stay This Way has more of a summer feeling. That vibe is further enhanced by its music video, which sadly has no relation to the story of the lyrics and is more like a collection of glamour and dance shots on the beach. There’s nothing wrong with that, but if you are looking for a storyline to follow in the MV, you will be disappointed.

But if you ignore the video and take the song in by itself, you will find another great a-side from fromis_9.

The remainder of from our Memento Box follows suit with more summery songs. Of the up-tempo songs Up And and Rewind stood out to me the most.

Blind Letter is the only song on this EP that isn’t a dance-pop workout. Instead, you have fromis_9 slowing things down to give listeners some breathing room. Typically these stop-gap placement songs are just there to fill time, but this one is quite good and worth checking out if you like the relaxed version of fromis_9.

The final verdict for from our Memento Box is that it’s fromis_9 doing what they have been doing in the prior two mini-albums. As mentioned above, they are skilled in delivering catchy pop songs, and there isn’t much that has changed now.

Following this musical pattern is working for them, so why mess with a good thing if it isn’t broken?

  • BeatPort Logo