f(x) – 4 Walls Review

f(x) 4 Walls

Release Date: October 27, 2015

Track Listing

  1. 4 Walls
  2. Glitter
  3. Déjà vu
  4. X
  5. Rude Love
  6. Diamond
  7. Traveler feat. ZICO
  8. Papi
  9. Cash Me Out
  10. When I’m Alone


4 Walls is the fourth album from K-Pop group f(x) and their first since Sulli left the group to pursue an acting career. The title track is the lead single from this album.

f(x) return to the world of K-Pop with an album crafted to get you to the dance floor or appropriate place for you to shake your booty. This is a simplistic musical approach that aims to please, especially now that the group is down a member who had caused a bit of controversy.

Of course missing members isn’t necessarily new to this group, but given the circumstances and the whole overblown hoopla it’s not really a surprise that there’s a return to the basics.

4 Walls also appears to try to make up for the lackluster Red Light, which seems to be a consensus weak effort all around in the f(x) discography. So was it mission accomplished?

I believe it mostly does get the job done. Not surprisingly, the album starts off with the title track and it just takes off from there. The best songs on the album are those that fall within the four on the floor pounding of dance music such as the previously mentioned title track (4 walls if you forgot), Rude Love, Papi (not a cover of the Jennifer Lopez song of the same name) and Cash Me Out.

Those tracks are the most immediately enjoyable if you are looking for a few quick hits from the album. If you choose to dig deeper Glitter and Diamond also deserve consideration for a few spins if you want a break from the kick drum pounding.

There is only one somewhat slow-ish or ballad-like song on this album and that comes at the end with When I’m Alone. It has a bit of that retro 80’s synth pop vibe to and it can be considered a cool down type of closing track.

The only negative I can find about this album is that the overall sound is still somewhat fractured. It would have been great if the entire thing were just straight up 4/4 dance floor killers since what is on here within that genre is the stronger material.

Otherwise, it’s much better than Red Light and for long-time f(x) fans that should be enough to warrant a purchase. If that is not you, it is still recommended to give this a shot and/or cherry pick what you like from iTunes.

4 Walls

YesAsia-Logo iTunes

About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.