Release Date: September 29, 2022

Track Listing

  1. StarLight
  2. Eye to Eye
  3. Paradise
  4. Cha Cha
  5. StarLight (Acapella Ver.)
  6. Eye to Eye (Acapella Ver.)
  7. StarLight (Instrumental)
  8. Eye to Eye (Instrumental)


LIMELIGHT (stylized as LIMΞLIGHT) is a girl group under 143 Entertainment set to debut in January 2023. Unlike other girl groups, LIMELIGHT is fluid with its membership and has no limit on the number of members.

On August 12, 2022, the first three members of LIMELIGHT were revealed.

  • Miu (Ito Miyu)
  • Suhye (Kim Suhye)
  • Gaeun (Oh Gaeun)

Keen-eyed viewers of Korean idol survival shows may recognize Miu from Girls Planet 999 and Suhye from My Teenage Girl.

They didn’t make it far in their respective shows, but here they are on the cusp of making an official debut. This is much better than most of the show contestants they appeared with.

On September 29, 2022, LIMELIGHT’s self-titled pre-debut EP was released on streaming services and in physical form. It features the title track, StarLight, a song that immediately reminds listeners of another girl group, IZ*ONE.

This is no coincidence, as the song was created by the lyricist and producers of IZ*ONE’s Fiesta. So if you like that style of girl group pop, then StarLight will be an instant win for you.

On my first few initial passes of this EP, I didn’t find much going on with the b-sides. They were nice, but nothing stood out as much as the title track. However, after many repeated listens to the three remaining songs, I better understand the types of music that would fit LIMELIGHT.

Eye to Eye takes the group into EDM pop territory. This relaxed song has the member’s vocals front and center. Going by this track, it’s easy to hear that Suhye will be the belter and main vocal of the group’s current lineup.

Paradise has LIMELIGHT trying out some Urban pop crossover music. It’s much harder sounding than the fluffy tracks that came before it. Yet the members sound at home performing this style of music.

The final b-side Cha Cha is what could be considered the only actual slow song on the EP. This R&B/Pop song is much Like Eye to Eye; you can clearly hear each member’s vocal capabilities. It sounds like Gaeun and Miu are the focus on this track for vocals as far as line distribution goes.

I knew zero about this group before this album dropped, so I had no expectations of them. So I can say that for a pre-debut EP, this is pretty good. The material presented here makes it appear that LIMELIGHT could convincingly pull off several musical concepts without looking or sounding out of place.

It will be interesting to see what they come out with for their official debut. Also, how many members besides the starting trio will be in the group by then?


  • Traxsource-Banner