Monkey Majik – southview Review

Monkey Majik southview CD Cover

Release Date: March 9, 2016

Track Listing

  1. Delicious
  2. High
  3. Plastic Girl
  4. Undercover
  5. Utopia
  6. Breathe
  7. Gamer
  8. Kiss Me
  9. Splash
  10. Valentine
  11. Colours of the World
  12. The Mistakes I’ve Made


southview is the 10th studio album from Sendai based multinational band Monkey Majik. Released during their 15th anniversary year this album is a lighter affair compared to seriousness and melancholy of their previous effort Colour by Number.

southview leans heavily on a blend of dance music and pop. The overall sound can be described as a hybrid of Jamiroquai and Maroon 5. Yes, it’s a strange sounding combination but somehow Monkey Majik make it work by adding their own unique twist into the mix.

Tracks such as Delicious, Breathe, Undercover and Kiss Me lead when it comes to this mish-mash of sounds. To add some variety there are also tracks like the Reggae tinged Utopia and the retro sounding Splash. Those who like Monkey Majik’s slower songs are out of luck for the most part. You do get thrown a bone with the last 2 tracks on the album but that’s about it.

Overall southview is a fun collection of catchy pop that will absolutely feed the cravings of those who are looking for such songs. And if you haven’t given Monkey Majik a listen yet, this isn’t a bad place to start.

southview (CD Only)


southview (CD + DVD)


southview (CD + BLU-RAY)


About Greg 975 Articles
Greg is the creator, administrator, editor, code monkey, overlord and general jack of all trades at Selective Hearing. He can be found lurking among the overseas Asian pop fandom and bumming around Japan every year for some reason or another.