Red Velvet – Queendom Review

Red Velvet Queendom Queens Version Cover

Release Date: August 16, 2021

Track Listing

  1. Queendom
  2. Pose
  3. Knock On Wood
  4. Better Be
  5. Pushin’ N Pullin’
  6. Hello, Sunset


Red Velvet has returned two years after releasing their ReVe Festival albums and focusing on solo/sub-group activities. Their ninth EP is titled Queendom and features the title track as its lead single.

Queendom is a high-tempo dance music workout that radiates positivity through its three-minute running time. The lyrics are very uplifting, which makes Queendom something you would want to listen to if you need a gas-up of any kind.

It sets up the mood of the remainder of the album quite nicely.

With that in mind, it can be safe to say that the music on this album fits firmly on the “Velvet” side of the group’s sound as there is no trace of the quirky “Red” songs anywhere. If you like only the “Red” style of songs, you are out of luck with this album, and your only option is to go back to other albums in Red Velvet’s discography for your fix.

Unfortunately, there’s nothing in the list of album cuts that match the energy of the title track, although Pose comes pretty close once you get to the chorus. Knock On Wood and Better Be take the album into the mid-tempo R&B/Pop territory. Conversely, Pushin’ N Pullin’ and Hello, Sunset slow things down a bit to close the album.

All the remaining five tracks are great, and what you gravitate towards will depend on what types of songs you are are in the mood to listen to. You should just listen to the whole thing repeatedly regardless.


  • Traxsource-Banner