That’s My Jam: Blue Six – Beautiful Tomorrow

That’s My Jam is a weekly feature where one person from the Selective Hearing staff goes to wax poetic about music that is pivotal to their musical tastes. Whether that would be an album, a song, or anything in-between. We all had to start somewhere.

Blue Six Beautiful Tommorow

Release Date: January 22, 2002

  1. Let’s Do It Together
  2. Close To Home
  3. Music and Wine (Teksoul Dub)
  4. Sweeter Love
  5. Pure (Jay’s Nitelife Dub)
  6. All I Need
  7. Very Good Friends
  8. Yeah
  9. Grace (Freedom Dub)
  10. Love Yourself
  11. Come Inside
  12. Music and Wine
  13. Pure
  14. Beautiful Tomorrow


Blue Six is the project name for Naked Music founder Jay Denes, a former New York City rock musician turned dance music producer. Beautiful Tomorrow is the debut from Blue Six and it features a sophisticated palette of soulful and chill out grooves featuring a variety of vocalists from the House music genre.

What is on Beautiful Tomorrow is not what one would consider traditional House. A lot of mainstream listeners have been conditioned to believe that pounding four on the floor with screeching synths and inane repetitive lyrics is all that the genre is good for.

If that’s all you think of House music in general this album should change your mind. The compositions are much closer to a blend of Jazz and R&B than they are to the typical House or mainstream club track.

Driven by the singles Music and Wine, Let’s Do It Together, Pure and Sweeter Love Beautiful Tomorrow showcases a wide variety of sweet beats and and melodies. Peak hour club bangers these songs are not.

Unfortunately, for some that will be the major drawback of this album. The cool feeling of Beautiful Tomorrow doesn’t exactly push anything past 2nd gear at all over the 14 tracks. The similar sound across the board may bore a few who crave some excitement or wee bit of variety in their listening experience.

Should the idea of leaving the pounding beats behind for a mature, uplifting experience be enticing then this will be the album for you.

FTC Disclosure

We sometimes use affiliate links in our content for the things we write about and related products our readers may be interested in.

You are not obligated to act on these links. Still, if you do, you'll be helping offset some of the costs associated with maintaining Selective Hearing as we receive a small commission from purchases made.

Thanks for your support!