tripleS – Assemble Review

tripleS Assemble Cover

Release Date: February 13, 2023

Track Listing

  1. Beam
  2. Before the Rise
  3. Rising
  4. Colorful
  5. The Baddest
  6. New Look
  7. Chowall


tripleS is a 24-member Korean girl group under the MODHAUS agency. They are a decentralized idol group whose members rotate between the central unit, sub-units and solo activities.

Listeners first received a taste of tripleS through their first sub-unit, Acid Angel from Asia. Now that the 10-member main group has debuted with their album Assemble, what will they bring to the table?

Firstly, you’re not getting an army of girls to remember. So that’s always a good thing unless you’re a glutton for punishment like Japanese idol fans are and can memorize hundreds of members at a time.

Secondly, the funky and groovy sound that Acid Angel from Asia presented is continued on Assemble, at least at the start of the album.

The lead single, Rising, blends street swag and pop appeal. If that combination appeals to you, these catchy two-and-a-half minutes will be satisfying. But it’s a shame the song is so short. There’s enough of a groove to extend it a little bit more. Adding the 53 seconds from Before The Rise will improve the running time. But, still not long enough for my tastes.

The remainder of the album is equally short but sweet. Excluding the two interlude-like tracks and Rising, you have four new songs to absorb.

Beam and The Baddest bring the chill to the album in different ways. The former is laid-back R&B/Pop, while the latter has a more atmospheric EDM-influenced feel. Colorful and New Look, on the other hand, are uptempo tracks that are also opposites in sound. One is dance-pop, and the other is newtro synth-pop.

Going into this album, I wasn’t expecting much from the main tripleS group, and I can say that I am pleasantly surprised with Assemble. Listening from front to back was enjoyable, and nothing screamed: “Skip.” So yes, even the two interlude/filler tracks get a pass.

If you are unsure about tripleS, I can confidently say that Assemble is worth investing time in, and I highly recommend giving the album a spin.

Stream on Apple Music
Stream on Spotify

  • Traxsource-Banner